Wipe out

Today I ran 13 miles.  It took me 2 hours and 7 minutes, which is just under my 10 minute/ mile goal for the marathon.   It was a bit more difficult than usual.  I’d like to think I could have run this much faster (my last half marathon time was 1:57), buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut, something happened.

I wiped out.  2 miles in. I’d like to tell you it was because there was uneven sidewalk,  a speed bump, a huge branch,  maybe a leaf, or even a piece of grass… but, it did not happen that way.  I just fell over my own two feet and ended up lying on the ground for 3 minutes. Luckily, or unluckily depending on how you look at it if you don’t like to be embarrassed, there was an older man running in front of me.  He stopped, helped me up, and gave me a band aid for my bloody hand.  Now I know I need to carry band aids.

hand   knee

Bloody hand, bruised knee… also jammed ring finger.  Most people, while training for a marathon, injure their femur, hurt their foot… but no.  I scrape my hand and jam my finger by falling. I guess if that’s the worst it gets, then I’m lucky.   But the 11 miles after the fall literally were miz.  I thought about going home, but then I’d have to do it tomorrow.  So I kept on keeping on… and got it done.

run1 

Also… What the F is wrong with Ali Lohan’s face??? 

ali lohan

Um… That’s not what happened to me when I was 17.  Although, I’m from Kentucky.. so maybe things are different there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

