Gray Weekend

It’s been a lazy, gray weekend.  It’s also been about 20 degrees cooler than normal, which is kind of refreshing (although, I get cold easily, so it feels like winter). 

Yesterday I spent the day bar hopping to watch football games…. specifically, Kentucky versus Louisville.  Which, thanks to the amazing talent on Kentucky’s end… we lost.

joker

It’s going to be a LONG season.  Thank God we have basketball to look forward to.  It cannot get here soon enough.

I woke up this morning pretty sore, but made it to the gym and ran 2 miles, 30 minutes on the elliptical, and 20 minutes biking.  It was nice to get my legs moving and but my quads were super sore.  I’m hoping more rest and more Excedrin will help.  I also lifted my arms for a minute and a half and did abs, so by the time I got home I was pretty tired. 

And after lying on the couch all afternoon watching season 2 of Dexter, I think my legs are about as stiff as they’ve ever been.  I never finished season 1, so I’m trying to catch up in these first few episodes. And now I’m going to have nightmares…

dexter

 

Today, I found an article about a girl who is running a marathon.  Nothing new about that.  What is new, is that she is going to be eating ONLY MCDONALD’S for 31 days before the marathon.  Um… how can that be healthy? 

mcdonaldscharacters

Her sample daily menu includes

  • apple pie
  • fries
  • diet coke
  • chicken wrap
  • ice cream
  • cookie

Now… I’m no expert and I make bad nutritional decisions often (like that whole Punkin Beer thing– still ticked about that, btw)… but no where did she mention eating any of the ‘healthier’ options like grilled chicken salad or eggs.  She also got sick on the first day of training with only fast food.  My question is:

WHY?????

She is trying to eat McDonalds for one day longer than some guy did and then run a marathon… it seriously seems like a terrible reason to train for a marathon- just so you could say you ate McDonalds for 31 days?  Seriously, people are so strange.  If you want to read all the details, here it is.

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/health/eat-only-mcdonalds-for-a-month-and-run-a-marathon-one-womans-crazy-challenge-2556030/

So although I use my long run days to intake more bad calories than good ones, I cannot see how anyone can think this is a good idea.  Or how someone could like McDonalds enough to eat it everyday.  Any guesses as to how much weight she will gain during these 31 days?  Because she’s not working off 3,000+ each day.

Time to snuggle with this little boo before the long work week begins…

derby4

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

