Sniffy Kids… Sick Teacher

I’m experiencing my first (of many, I’m sure) cold of the school year.  I am stuffy.  I am sniffy.  I am lethargic.  And all I want to do is… nothing.

This does not make for good running or working out… in fact, it was downright painful today, hacking up a lung and trying to keep my pace… I pulled out another 5 mile run (I seriously love this week’s easier schedule) and walked a mile, just because it was nice outside.   I think the Tylenol PM from last night was still in my system… so I felt like I was going super slow and I thought I’d never finish. 

tylenol PM

But I did.. and blew many a snot rocket (hello, gross)… and am hoping that an early bedtime will help energize me for tomorrow. 

For dinner, I was craving something light (maybe it’s because I ate THREE O’Charley’s rolls at lunch today…heaven in a roll) and made delicious homemade chicken noodle soup.  Thanks, pbfingers for all the recipes!

chicken noodle

(Can you find the hungry kitty?)

In AWESOME racing news… my partner in crime and I stumbled upon this little website yesterday… www.destinationraces.com.  It’s a five race (half marathon) series in different areas of the country- and all of the races are through vineyards (helloooooooooooooooooooooooooo, yes please).  Need I say more??

wine country

So, luckily, Virginia is part of this series… (all the best wines come from here, right?), so of course we are signing up (a free t-shirt PLUS free wine tastings to all the vineyards and wine fest… it keeps getting better and better).   It’s not until June, but it’d be nice to have something to look forward to….and an excuse for a three day weekend. 

It’s our goal to run all five of these in the next year and a half (I’m making it our goal… right now).  First, Virginia.. then, Napa…and we’ll go from there.  Doesn’t sound too shabby.  Has anyone ran any race in this series?  Can I request wine at the water stations?  Would you judge if you were a volunteer?

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sniffy Kids… Sick Teacher

  1. Leah

    I want to do it too! Can I be your 2nd partner in crime?!?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

