Day 1- No Sugar…

…can I do it?   I did avoid buying any sort of Halloween Candy and Candy Corn Pumpkins at the grocery store today, so that’s a step in the right direction, right?

It was a gorgeous weekend here in Virginia… and I tried to take advantage of the fact that my long run was Friday night and not Saturday morning like usual.  I wasn’t tired or sore, so, I forced my fave to make the trip to Charlottesville to go to Carter Mountain Orchard and pick apples/ enjoy the view/ make me feel like less of a loser because going alone would be weird.

cartermountain

cartermountain1

cartermountain2

I was honestly a little disappointed because most of the apples on the trees were either picked, rotting on the tree, or rotting in piles on the ground.  I guess it’s a little late for apple picking this season.  It also was crazy crowded, and I’m not a fan of crowds, lines, yelling parents, whiny teenagers (note to self:  never make your child older than 11 go to an apple orchard… it will not end good), or anything of the sort.

But, we got in, purchased some apples, apple donuts, apple cookies and apple pie (had to get all that sugar in yesterday), and headed down the mountain to meet our friends Leah and Chris for tailgating and the UVA game!

uvagame

Look at me supporting the team… navy and orange.  I really like fitting in, even if I don’t care about the outcome of the game.  Thank God I wore my brown boots, because 9 out of every 10 females from the ages of 18-45 had on tall brown boots.  Great planning on my part.

During the halftime show, the UVA band wanted to ‘pay tribute’ to video games (which, by the way, are something most teachers hate more than anything), and this happened.

uvapacman

Now, if you guessed that the arrow is pointing to PACMAN, you’d be correct.  How on earth do you get the job of that guy?  Sorry, Fred, put down the trumpet.  You’re going to be Pacman today. 

Weird.  I really wish I had gotten a picture of the one where a person trotted around and bounced off the moving walls of band members…. totally threw me off guard for a minute and I couldn’t get to my phone.  Shoot.

So, all in all it was a really fun day… I totally love October weather when you combine it with day drinking and cornhole.

After getting home and ordering pizza (might as well get all the bad eating in in one day, right?), I was asleep on the couch by 10:30.  And it was amazing. 

Today’s cross training workout included a mile run, 30 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the bike and a mile walk.  I also have continued my “do 35 pushups everyday” thing and am fiiiiiiiiiiinally seeing a teensy, tiny line of definition.  Nice work, me.

Tonight’s dinner is super easy-  Crockpot Shredded BBQ Chicken recommended to me by my favorite Cook, Tiffany!

-6 chicken breasts

– 12 oz of BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Rays)

– 1/2 cup of Light Italian dressing

– 1/4 cup of brown sugar (I used like a teaspoon…you know, trying to avoid extra sugar… I’m sure it will still taste good)

– 2 tbs worcheschire sauce

Dump it all in the crockpot and cook on high for 3-4 hours.  Shred it with a fork and serve.  Amazing.  I love the crockpot.

I cut the recipe in half and it smells delicious right now.  And if you think Derby is not walking around meowing because she’d like a bite, you’d be wrong.  Because my ears are ringing.

Smile                    Smile                    Smile                    Smile                    Smile                    Smile                    Smile

Thanks for everyone’s suggestions and support for me to continue to run the marathon. 

I was in a very frustrated mood Friday and Saturday, but I’ve decided that I have worked too hard and given up too much and spent way too much money on running gear to quit.  Also, I’d have to hate to tell people I actually did quit. 

So, right now my plan is to give up most sugar and see how it goes this weekend.  On my plan I have a 12 mile run scheduled… so cross your fingers.  I haven’t quit yet…and I’d really like to think I can beat my b of a stomach.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

