I’m just not quite sure…

…what to do about this whole marathon thing.   Yeah, I’ve spent the last 16 weeks of my life preparing, and yeah, I’ve spent more money on nerdy running gear than I’d like to admit, and yeah, I’ve given up a bunch of social stuff to do it…

gear

Today was my last ‘long’ run before the marathon- 12 miles.  I haven’t had real sugar since Saturday; I’ve avoided weird food; I even took an Imodium before my run today. 

imodium

Did it help?  No.  It did not.

I ran the first six miles in 55 minutes, did 3 on the tready at the gym (thanks Stacy for talking me through a mile!)  at 6.0 pace and ran 3 miles home in 28=

Total:  12 miles in 1:53.

When I got home, I immediately got sick…interpret it how you like…but it’s whatever sick you’re thinking, because all types of sick happened.  Sorry.  TMI.

I don’t know what to do.  Ugh. 

After an hour and a half, I finally ate some bread and then dinner.  And now I feel a little queasy but okay.  And I’m more than a little discouraged. 

Sorry for whining. 

Anyway, in other news…

Today was a half day at school… I avoided the beany Mexican bar for lunch and sat through meetings semi patiently.  I also got this from a former student today (it’s supposed to be an atom…the M&M’s are the neutrons I think…) and taught the kids about DePauw. 

cake

And, I had dinner made for me, which is always amazingly awesome.  And, Wednesday is over, so that means only two more days this week! Win!

So friends, any advice/ stories of encouragement are welcome Smile

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’m just not quite sure…

  1. Oh no! I was so sure Immodium would work 😦

  2. It was great to see you at the gym! You looked like those miles were no problem! Acupuncture? She’s done wonders on my allergies. Maybe she can help your system?

  3. Kara

    Oh but you have worked too hard for you B of a stomach to get you down! Maybe you could run to a gastrologist’s office this week? I do like the Acupuncture idea too, it helped my mom some (better than anything else) and they could possibly give you some insight into where the real problem is.

  4. Tim

    I’m a block away on Boulevard around Mile 18 if you need a restroom?

Leave a Reply

