New Attitude

Ho-kay.  Here’s the deal.

From this moment on, I am going to have a new attitude about the marathon.  Yes, I’ve had a bunch of crappy runs that have ended in nausea, vom, and other terrible things I shouldn’t mention… but, I’ve also had some really good runs that left me feeling super successful and completely sure of myself (when I made the 20 miler my B, I felt on top of the world).

So- I have a plan.  Of course.

1.  Stop stressing every second.  I wasted a lot of precious beauty sleep last night thinking about running.

2.  Veer off the plan and do another 10-12 miler next week.  My last longish run is supposed to be 8… but I think I need to have one more good 2 hour run to feel like I can complete the marathon. 

3.  Do the 10-12 miler before work next week or Saturday morning (although, that is one week before the marathon- is that too soon??  I don’t know how early I’m going to be able to convince myself to get up before school), because running in the afternoon after a day of eating and work under your belt is much different than running first thing in the morning.   I’d like to say, yes, I can do it this Sunday, but let’s face it… Halloween is Saturday night.  No way am I getting up and running 12 miles after that.

4.  Continue to watch my sugar intake and stop eating three apples everyday.

5.  Take Imodium starting 2 days before my longish run.   See if that changes anything for during and after the run.

6.  Get sleep!  For serious. 

7.  Talk myself up (in my head of course…you won’t hear me bragging about how awesome I am, because let’s face it, who wants to hear that? ha) and think positive thoughts about the marathon.

And that’s where I’m at.  If you think of anything else to add to the list let me know. 

To pump myself up, I’m going to be thinking about how awesome it will be to be here just one short week after I run a marathon.

grandcayman

I actually think this should be at the top of my list.  Reward.

I’ll also be drinking a few (or more) of these.

gc

Maybe I should write a book on motivational techniques.  This is really working for me right now.

In closing and on a totally unrelated topic…. I’d like good Halloween costume ideas.  Easy, simple, but funny.  Go.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Attitude

  1. You’re even motivating me…and I’m not running a marathon. Beaches + beverages have that effect!

Leave a Reply

