Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween!

It has been a super busy Monday, as always.

I got up at the crack of dawn this morning to get my workout in before the candy madness that was sure to follow.  My workout was an easy 4 mile run (taper, remember?) plus 10 minutes on the elliptical and abs and pushups.  It was so difficult to get myself moving this morning…especially because it was only 33 degrees at 5:20.  33 DEGREES!!!  Are you kidding me?  Already? I had to scrape FROST off my car.  Ugh.

I am not ready for winter. 

On my way to work this morning I stopped to get  gas and a nicely dressed woman got out of a van and walked over to me.  Me, assuming the worst, thought she was going to ask me for money (it happens more often than you’d think), so of course I pretend not to see her standing right in front of me.  She persists, and eventually hands me this:

9

Then, she got into her van and drove away.  She didn’t give anyone else a mag. Just me.  Clearly I look like a sinner.

I think it was the pumpkin earrings. 

School was fun today, and of course the kiddos were hyped up about the candy.  Since one of our students doesn’t celebrate Halloween, we couldn’t do any sort of witchy/ batty/ spidery/ gobliny/ monstery activity.  Annoying.  I found a super cute witch finger craft that looked fun… but, nixed.  So, instead, we got to do some fun pumpkin things… and we made these:

o

Oranges decorated like pumpkins! So cute, and the kids loved them.  Some had earrings, one had a mustache, one was an angel- really simple idea.

They also gorged themselves on cupcakes and candy…and I sent them home on a sugar high.  Take that, parents.

This afternoon we started to hand out candy to the hoards of people bussed in from the burbs.  You have no idea how crazy the neighborhood gets during Halloween.  The past two years we went through over 1,000 pieces of candy- Seriously.  One piece for each “trick or treater”.  I put it in quotes because it’s not just the kids in costumes who are trick or treating… it’s their lazy, cheap, ridiculous parents on the cell phone, it’s the 2 month old babies, it’s the 17 year olds with mustaches and car keys, it’s the extra bag for the ‘sick baby cousin’…

It is ridic.  And it really makes me angry when we have to turn the light off early and the actual kids miss out on candy…because I already gave it all to their parents.

So we thought we’d be a little grinchy this year and put out a sign-

8

It lasted 2 groups.  I got embarrassed.  One woman scoffed at the sign and said, “Costumes? I tried, but… so..” about her kid in jeans and a t-shirt.  Um.  It’s TRICK-OR-TREATING.  The entire point is to dress up in costumes to get candy.  Some people are so pathetic.  Freaking go to CVS and spend $4 on a bag of candy.  Stop freeloading.

After the downpour, we finally headed inside to have dinner.  New crockpot concoction!

I got this recipe from my “Best Slow Cooker Recipes” book.

Mediterranean Chicken

– chicken breast or thighs

– jar of marinated artichoke hearts

– 2 cups of sliced mushrooms

– 1 can of whole tomatoes, drained and sliced

– 1 can of sliced black olives

– 1 cup of chicken broth

– 3 tbs quick cooking tapioca

– Italian seasoning

1.  Put the veggies in the bottom of the crockpot.  Place chicken on top of veggies and sprinkle with tapioca.  Sprinkle with Italian seasoning and salt, then pour chicken broth over it all.  Cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 7-8.

Delish!

9

Hope you had a good Halloween!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Halloween!

  1. Ugh! That scoffing woman would frustrate me! You clearly didn’t try so hard…take your makeup and paint something on your kid’s face. Sounds like your neighborhood is THE place to be!

Leave a Reply

