11 Days

… Until the MARATHON!  EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK.

I am now nervous.  Officially. 

Ugh.

This morning I woke up and went to work thinking all I had to do when I got home was a silly little 3 mile run.  And I completely thought, “Hey… go out of your mind and do 4.  Be crazy today, Kathy.”  Then I got home and looked at the plan and it said that I had to do 5 miles. 

So I did.  I actually did a bit over 5, which at this point, isn’t  a big deal, but just having my mindset on ‘3 maybe 4 miles’ was really hard to change for some reason.  After a mile of stiffness I finally loosened up and felt good my last 4 miles.  I’m not a huge fan of tapering so far, but it’s nice to know I’m not going to be running for 90 minutes after school anymore.

I have to admit, after eating candy and sweets for two days, I do feel slower and bulkier and oaf-like. I guess my body is telling me something.  My stomach was fine this afternoon while running, but I really felt sluggish.  Unfortunately, that was my last chance at sweets until the marathon is over…. which sounds like a really long time without icing, candy and ice cream.

1

Oh well.

So, I’m thinking about how I’m going to workout after the marathon.  I want to keep up with my running and continue doing a longer run per week (by longer I mean 8-10ish) but I can’t continue to run 5 days per week, and I definitely hate the elliptical.  The only reason I’m doing it now is because I need another cardio activity… not at all because I like it.

I know runningoffthereeses has been doing CrossFit, which sounds really awesome and really, really, really hard… but it also sounds like something that I cannot afford.  In fact, I know it is something I cannot afford.  So that’s out. 

Today a groupon came for kickboxing classes that I’m really interested in.  It’s not like kickboxing you do at a class at the gym, it’s more like martial arts kickboxing with resistance training.  Has anyone done this before?  It says a 155lb person will burn 860 calories an hour… does this seem realistic for kickboxing?

I need other ideas!!!  I don’t like swimming and I hate bikers (there’s this rule in Richmond- be dumb and you’ll be a good biker), so my options are limited. 

Anyway.  Today was a good day at school… we won a pretty big award for the state of Virginia and are one of 100 schools in the United States that are named Title 1 Distinguished Schools.  So, we got an assembly and cake.  How else do you reward teachers for receiving a national honor? 

2

Unfortunately, I didn’t eat any.  No sweets.  Of course.

By the way… www.skinnyrunner.com is doing a giveaway for Amway Nutrilite.  Go enter! 

So 2 things-

1.  I still need more songs for my playlist.. so send good ones my way!  Thanks, Paula!

2.  Ideas for new workouts after the marathon… Smile

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “11 Days

  1. Tara

    I run 4 days a week and do Bikram yoga….2 or 3 times a week. Yoga sounds relaxing right….but this is the hot yoga….105 degrees for a 90 min class. It’s changed my life and made my running that much stronger. I don’t know if it’s available in your area or not. It really gets your heart rate up and really….it’s the best work out I’ve done besides running.

  2. Ok, you don’t like bikers?! WHAT?! I thought we were friends…I mean, I’m in your blog stalking category. I’m hurt 😉

    Do you have a gym near you like 24Hour? They have lots of different cardio classes like step and strength or zumba, etc. You could try any of those!

    • Um I was stalking you as you stalked me. Hello over there!
      I just don’t like stupid bikers. Where I live all the hipsters ride their bikes and talk on their phones and are oblivious to cars/ stop signs/ rules of the road. It makes me hate them… not you 🙂 I like actual, “I know how to ride a bike and follow the rules so I don’t get killed” bikers…which is what I imagine you to be!

  3. Missie

    Three songs I love to run to:
    1. Untouched by The Veronicas
    2. Kryptonite by 3 Doors Down
    3. All Day by Girl Talk. This is a 72 minute mash-up of dozens of songs and you can download it for free. I always recommend it to people but be warned there are some “naughty” words. Love it for my long runs!

  4. sfrommy

    Hey there super runner! I’ve been trying to find a new workout since I just finished the Bourbon Chase. I’ve heard that yoga is really good for runners and it’s a complete change of pace (pun intended). So, I think I”m going to check it out this weekend! Just a little idea I had, as I’ve struggled with the same anxiety when I’m about to run a race and start to think about what will happen aftewards. Anyways, love the blog, love you, and I know you’re going to do a really cute job in the marathon!

Leave a Reply

