I’m not so sure about

this whole taper thing.

Is it okay to feel somewhat lazy during taper? 

Don’t get me wrong, I like knowing my workouts aren’t going to be two hours long after a long day at work.. but sometimes I wonder, is it enough?

Yesterday’s workout was a 4 mile run, 1 mile walk home, abs and arms. 

Today I ran 3 miles (keeping with the plan), plus 25 minutes on the elliptical (not on the plan) and a 1 mile walk (not on the plan).  It seems semi pointless for me to go workout for less than 30 minutes, so I felt like I needed to do a bit more- nothing high impact or stressful, but just more cardio than 26 minutes. 

2

Does anyone else feel this way when training for a big race?

Anyway, the last couple of days have been a bit mundane.  And again, I thought today was Friday almost all day.  I really hate it when that happens, and it seems to be constant lately.  I’m always a day ahead in my mind, and I keep experiencing the disappointment of being wrong.  Tomorrow is already the end of the first nine weeks of school, which seems crazy because it feels like we just started.   I’m cramming in grades (my least favorite thing about my job) and trying to figure out how I’m going to fit everything in this year.  It gets so overwhelming at times.

Last night’s meal was super easy and served as leftovers tonight.

Crockpot Roast with Banana Peppers (From Tiffany!)

– Chuck roast (or whatever type of roast you like)

– 2 jars of sliced banana peppers

– 1 beer (I used Amstel light… better taste than any of the other light beers)

— Place roast at bottom of crockpot.  Dump 2 jars of banana peppers and beer over roast.  If the liquid does not cover roast, add a little water.   Cook on high 3-4 hours and dinner is served!

 

Today in the mail I finally got a reward from www.dailyfeats.com!  Remember daily feats?  You check in things that you do daily (I forget a lot…) and you get points for each thing you do.  I hit 5,000 points a couple of weeks ago and cashed in for a $10 Starbucks gift card! Yes!  (I know… super weird, but who doesn’t like coming home to mail that also happens to be a gift card?)

1

So guess who’s getting Starbucks FOR FREE tomorrow morning??  It’s the little things, friends.

Speaking of little things, I talked the fave into getting the kickboxing Groupon with me- 10 sessions for $50.00 plus my very own boxing gloves.

3

I really hope mine are purple.  Or Kentucky blue.  But, I’m sure they’ll be red and black like all the boxing gloves I’ve ever seen in real life.  We are planning on starting the week after the marathon (if I don’t have to be rolled around in a wheelchair for a week) and I’m really excited.  Has anyone done martial arts kickboxing before?

4

I know, Ross, I know.  But hopefully it will be fun and also give me a little muscle definition?? 

Yay for it almost being Friday!!  Go wish Paula good luck in her first marathon in Savannah this weekend!!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I’m not so sure about

  1. I can’t say that I’ve ever done a real taper….I’ve only run 2 half marathons and I really didn’t know what I was doing for either, including not knowing about a taper. I do it for my triathlons, but usually i’m so excited to have a training breather that I don’t question it!

    • I never really did a taper for half marathons either…and, like you, I didn’t really know what I was doing and just made up my own plan… hopefully this whole taper thing pays off!

  2. Kara

    Swimmers taper before big races, it always really helped my time! I remember being surprised how much better it felt to swim.

  3. Leah

    Wait! I want a shout out too! I got the classes as well – hooray for being a kickboxing THIRD WHEEL!

    P.S. You complain about 20 miles and now you complain about 4?!?!?! Silly! Enjoy it and get excited to be ready to kill 26!!!!

  4. Maggie

    I belonged to a boxing gym and I’ve taken kickboxing. If its considering working out, I’ve probably done it. Oh and my boxing gloves are UK blue;)

Leave a Reply

