Thanksgiving and… Thanksgiving

Well, as you know the fave and I spent Thanksgiving night traveling back to the good ol US of A.   Unfortunately, the Miami airport doesn’t prepare a home cooked turkey and stuffing for all the wary travelers who just spent an hour going through customs (seriously, a nightmare in that airport… if you’ve ever been you know it is a confusing mess of non- English speaking people trying to follow colored dots… nightmare).  So, we spent our thanksgiving night eating…what else, Chinese.

chinese airport 

As delicious as the airport Chinese food was, we decided it wasn’t enough and that we needed to continue our binge eating into the weekend.  So, on Friday it was time to prepare a ‘real’ Thanksgiving feast. 

In my family, every Thanksgiving my mom puts out the ‘turkey head’.  What’s a turkey head you wonder?

turkey head

The turkey head sticks into the pineapple to make a turkey… Clever, right?  Mine is very old and falling apart… but still presentable.  If you’re thinking that the fave is not as excited about the turkey head as I am, you are correct.  I think he rolls his eyes when I talk about it.. but secretly he kind of enjoys it.

So, for our feast, we cooked a turkey, made crock pot mashed potatoes, healthy stuffing, green beans, and gravy. 

thanksgiving turkey

My plate x 2, including one of those delicious looking turkey legs.

thanksgiving plate

And of course, we couldn’t forget dessert, could we?  Which is why I spent about 2 hours making this pie:

Grandma M’s Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

In a sauce pan combine until boiling-

  • 2 packs of gelatin
  • 4 cups of canned pumpkin
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cloves

Chill in fridge until it can hold soft mounds when you stir.

Meanwhile, beat until it is thickened-

  • 6 egg whites
  • 2/3 cup sugar (slowly being poured into egg whites)

Next, take out pumpkin mixture and fold in-

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp grated orange rind
  • egg white mix

Spoon all of that into a pie crust (this made 2 pies for me)…and don’t forget to cook the pie crust first.

Now, make the frosting by beating-

  • 1 pt heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup of sugar

Spread all of that on pie.  If you’d like to make it more amazing, make the topping  by cooking-

  • 1.5 cups walnuts
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Let topping cool on greased foil and then sprinkle over pie. 

Yes, it’s a lot of steps and yes, it’s calorie free… and this is what you get:

pumpkin chiffon

Did I mention how delicious it tastes?  So amazing.

So that’s how I spent my Black Friday/ real Thanksgiving dinner day.  Thank goodness I went to the gym before to work off .23 bites of the pie. 

And now that all the fun is over, I’m back to my normal schedule on Saturday of gym time and football watching.  This morning I did a nice and easy 6 mile run and abs.  The run was my longest since the marathon 2 weeks ago, and my ankle is still in recovery mode.  My bruise is not completely gone and I’m a little wary of running outside for fear of tripping on yet another stick.  I’m trying to slowly up my mileage again so I’m running a few 10+ mile runs per month.  The next race I have scheduled is in March, so it’s really tough for me to keep up motivation.  I’m also hoping to start the kickboxing classes this week, so that gives me a nice little change in my workout.

How are you spending your Saturday?  More productive than me?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thanksgiving and… Thanksgiving

  1. Sarah

    Pseudo productive. However I did join Zacharias today! Hah! Productive!!!

Leave a Reply

