A First

This morning, I woke up thinking I’d do a nice run after school.  Maybe a couple miles outside before it got dark even.  But, when I got to work, my PiC invited me to a cycling class with her. 

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned the one time I tried to go to a cycling class before.  About 2 years ago, I decided I wanted to try something new, so  I went to the 5:45 am cycle class at the gym I belonged to at the time.  I figured it’d take a lot more energy so I ate a banana before class.  Well, I got there and immediately the instructor called me out for being new and made me feel like an idiot because she kept telling me everything I didn’t know.   Hey lady, let me sit in the back this first time and figure it out. 

Anyway, after feeling like an outsider (that class was like a super-club), about 8 minutes in, I felt a terrible queasy feeling in my stomach.  And I promptly threw up my banana (luckily I made it to the bathroom).  And then I walked out of the gym.  Embarrassed and feeling awful.  And never trying the cycling class again. 

biking

Until today.  I decided, hey, it’s a new gym, I’ll have a friend and maybe I need to get over my fear of cycle class.

And it was great.  I really loved it. 

Which is shocking, because for one thing, I hate bikers. HATE THEM.  (I mean, no offense, again (Heather!) ) The bikers who live in my area aren’t real bikers… they’re hipster bikers who wear really tight cords and talk on their phone.   So, what I see might not be reeeeeeeeeeal bikers… but I don’t like them 🙂

Back to class- I LOVED it.  It was difficult, I was a sweaty monster, and I am already sore.  The instructor talked the whole time and was super encouraging, and she didn’t call me out, and I got to be in the back and I didn’t feel like an idiot.  And, I didn’t throw up.  Always a win.

I’m going to go back.  Thanks, PiC for giving me something new to do at the gym!

Prior to class, I did a quick two mile run and my foot really didn’t bother me too much at all.  I think I’m going to keep this whole ‘water bottle massage’ thing up for awhile.

The rest of my day was full of soup, meetings, planning and stress.  Really not much to talk about there.  Except I have about 200 papers sitting next to me that need to be graded.  Ugh.

grading papers

So, I guess that’s what I need to do tonight.  Welcome to my exciting life. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A First

  1. Does this mean you dont like me? 😦
    I wear padded shorts and a bike jersey and dont talk on the phone. 🙂
    Yay for keeping your food in your belly this time!

  2. Probably going to have to take you out back by the willow tree for that one! 😉

  3. Leah

    Haha! Welcome to the club! I LOVE cycle. Best workout ever!!!! Next thing you know it, you will be wearing the goofy shoes like me!

Leave a Reply

