Soup Day

It’s a half day at school today.  Half day for the kids… not me, unfortunately. 

Each month we have a potluck with a different theme… so I signed up for Soup Day… because I figured I wanted to get it over with early in the year, and, I can just use my crockpot (my favorite gadget ever). 

Last night, at about 7, after I had gotten home, went to the gym and grocery, and gotten home again, I remembered I’d signed up for Soup Day. 

It wasn’t an option to leave the house again, so I had the few ingredients at home to make homemade lentil soup…. boring, yes… but I didn’t have to brave the grocery again, so it was a win in my book.

Veggie Lentil Soup

  • 1 cup dry lentils
  • 1 cup each of chopped carrots, celery, onion
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 2- 14 oz cans of veggie broth or chicken broth
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1- 14.5 oz can of Italian style tomatoes

Now, throw all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook for 4-5 hours on high or 8-10 on low.  Easy peasy.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Soup Day

  1. Sarah

    Omg YUM!!! thanks for the soup craving ;). I foresee this in my near future….

  2. Deborah Hoskins

    WOW! Cannot wait to try. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sarah

    Btw lentil soup…STELLAR FOOD, according to ZG.

Leave a Reply

