Full moon?

I heard there was a full moon this weekend, and by the way today went… I have a feeling that is true.  I swear it’s been crazy house at school lately, and if you’ve ever worked with kids, you know what I’m talking about.  Full moons (and I wish I were kidding) make them wild things.  And it’s even more so when certain people with red and white lights on their car need to be called… twice. 

Holy moly. Thank goodness my kids were the cute ones singing their multiplication tables.  For real, one of my happiest moments this year.  It was so cute to watch a bunch of kids, including the boys who pretend they’re too cool for life, sing this lame ass song that counts by 2’s.  So freaking funny… so we listened to it over and over…and now it’s stuck in my head.  Sweet.

count by 2s

Does anyone watch The Biggest Loser?  I’m sure lots of you do… I used to religiously, but then I realized I was eating my daily calories in one hour of watching.  Strange how that happens.  So then I turned my to Bravo so I could relax down while watching women shout at each other. 

Anyway, I happened to stumble upon Loser this week and they were down to the final 4.  And their final challenge was to run a marathon.  a.marathon.  a.full.marathon. 

They only started to workout FIVE months ago, at which time they all were severely overweight.  And they’d all been at home for a couple months (maybe three, I don’t remember) doing their own thing. 

And now they had to run a marathon.

In the middle of the desert.

In ugly cotton t-shirts.

With no i-pod.

Or cheering section.

biggest loser

Seriously.  In the desert, in cotton t-shirts (which are sure to provide chafing) and no music? 

No.F-ing.Way.

But, as I was googling, I found this picture.

big loser

Okay.  A few things.

1.  I trained for four months consistently and running a marathon was still one of the hardest things I’ve ever done (and I’m not even talking about the whole sprained ankle/ crutches thing).  And I was in great shape before the marathon training started.

2.  There’s no way in hell I’m the only sweaty monster around.  11 miles in the desert in COTTON and barely breaking a sweat?  I run a mile in a cotton t-shirt and my nipples are even sweating. 

3.  Maybe this picture doesn’t tell all but I don’t see water stations, water bottles, nourishment, etc.  I mean, I didn’t eat at all during my race, but I did drink at least a gallon of water (therefore making me a sweaty monster).

My question is… do they really, truly, actually, 100% run a full 26.2 mile marathon? 

I don’t know why this bothered me so much when I was watching it but it really did.  None of them actually trained for a marathon.. and I don’t care how in shape you are, running 26 miles is way different than working out on the elliptical or lifting weights, especially for someone who is brand new to working out.

Anyway.

In other “Kathleen is trying to be social and not go to sleep at 5:00 when the sun goes down” news, tonight I had dinner at one of my favorite sushi places (conveniently located 3 blocks away) with some fun friends.  What do they serve at said sushi restaurant other than sushi, you might ask?  Tots.  Tater tots.

tots

So, obviously, dinner was delicious.  And the only picture I took were of the tots.  Priorities. 

Now it’s time for a little dvr….Friday’s calling my name, friends.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Full moon?

  1. Did you put some tots in your pocket for later like Napoleon? Please tell me that you did. Please.

Leave a Reply

