Sore Throat

Well, it’s been about a month since I’ve felt sick, so I should have realized I’m due for some sort of illness.  Especially since covering your mouth when you cough isn’t automatic to my little friends.

Despite a sore throat and not sleeping much on Thursday night, I had a nice 8 mile run after school Friday. 

Translation: I ran 8 miles.  It wasn’t pretty.  But… it’s done.

My arch is still really bothering me anytime I do anything longer than a couple of miles, so I guess I need to go to some sort of doctor and get it checked out.  It’s not exactly the arch that’s hurting, it’s the bone that sticks out on the inside of your foot.  Does anyone know anything about injuring that bone?

So, I’m pretending to be smart and going to *try* not to run much until I get it checked out, but knowing myself, I’ll probably keep running like an idiot and injure myself even more.

Saturday morning I finally forced the fave to get up and go to kickboxing!  We bought a groupon a month ago for 10 martial arts kickboxing sessions (plus gloves!) and had yet to use it…. so, instead of sleeping in, I dragged him out into the cold for a morning class.  Let’s just say he wasn’t the most excited camper in the world, but the promise of breakfast and coffee after helped.

It was a good workout and time went by pretty quickly… but I’m not sure if I’m convinced it’s for me.  I like knowing how many calories I burn and how hard I’m working when I run.. but with a class that you kick and punch a bag, I don’t really know how to measure it.  I am sore today in my shoulders and biceps, so that’s good, right?  I do have to say, I kind of felt like a badass with the gloves.

gloves 

They aren’t purple, like I’d hoped.. and they smell like a dirty gym already, but, hey, look how awesome do they look?

Last week the fave and I decided to spend an entire day being lazy pieces of life… luckily, we chose today…and it worked out perfect because I felt like death all day.  I’ve been hacking up a lung since I woke up, so it was nice to not feel any pressure to do anything important.  

It was Christmas movie day/ nap day.  I took approximately 2.4 naps and watched 3 classics.   And I got out of my pj’s about an hour ago only to shower and put pj’s back on.  Yes, welcome to my life.

Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER

National Lampoons Christmas Vacation

national lampoons xmas

Love Actually

love actually

And it was a good day.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sore Throat

  1. I LOOOOOOOVE Love Actually! One of my faves 🙂

    Do you have a hr monitor? YOu could always wear one to your new class to check out the calorie burn…

    • Good idea! My garmin has a heart rate monitor that I’ve never used… Maybe I should check the box for that! Completely forgot about it!
      I love Love Actually too.. such a good lovey,but not too cheesy, Xmas movie!

  2. Kara

    Have you heard of plantar fasciitis? I think it has to do with your arch area and is common with runners.

Leave a Reply

