Holy Holidays

My time in Kentucky was incredibly busy… but then again, it always is since my time there is so short.

After getting home on Wednesday, and going to a fancy schmancy lunch with the ladies Thursday, the rest of the time flew by….and when it’s all said and done, I was glad I shoved so much into the little time I was in town. 

Christmas Day was fairly lazy until we went to celebrate a friend’s 32nd birthday/ family Christmas.  I had 2 plates that looked like this:

christmas dinner 

Plus birthday cake and two different types of ice cream cake…and a million chocolate covered pretzels.

Monday was my big family Christmas get together.. sooooo add another zillion calories into the mix and today, I’m feeling pretty good about myself.

Yesterday was my visit to the ortho doctor to figure out what was wrong and how I can fix it so I don’t have to cycle all day. So, I woke up at 4:45 am, tried to drug Derby (she wasn’t having it), and hopped in the car with bags under my eyes the size of Texas. I nearly fell asleep at least 4 times on my drive through the monsoon/ fog/ 25mph wind.

fog

This picture was taken at 11:00 am… and pretty much sums up my drive.

It was terrible.   Derby yowled until I force fed her half a pill, and finally, 8 hours later I made it home.

You have no idea how happy I was to walk in my door, let Derby out, and sit. 

It didn’t last long though, because I immediately had to run out the door to go to the doc.

And this is what I found out, besides the fact that I feel like an old woman going to the doctor for all my aches and pains.

I was diagnosed with posterior tibial tendonitis in my right foot along with patellofemoral pain in my right knee.  Oh, and I have flat feet, which I never knew (and here I thought I was fast…).

So what does this mean in terms of fixing it??  NO MORE BOOT!!!!  Two weeks was enough, so thank goodness.  I have to go to physical therapy a few times to get some exercises to strengthen and straighten my gait (over pronate) annnnnnnnnnd I have to get custom made orthotics.  Like an old person. 

orthotics

I’m pretty sure my grandma had these.

Right now I can cross train (the doctor suggested ‘running’ in the pool… ummmm no) until I go to therapy and the orthotics.  Unfortunately, the doctor forgot to give me the name and number of the therapist he wants me to go to.  So thanks for that.

So that’s where I am. 

It’s better news than expected, so I’m pretty happy about it.  I’m mostly happy I don’t have to wear the boot anymore 🙂

Happy Wednesday!

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Holy Holidays

  1. Congrats on no more boot!! At least it isn’t something WAY worse!

    PS That drive looks brutal!

  2. Maggie

    I see there is no mention of the memorable time with your dear ol’ friend Maggie. You must be saving that for its very own entry. Congrats on the boot removal! It was so good seeing you.

  3. Mom

    Neither Grandma had orthotics….but Grandpa had really flat feet. No sense blaming the ladies. P.S. Your brother wears orthotics. Ahhhh genetics! Good to see you Maggie and your mom!!

Leave a Reply

