Changing it up

Thursday night I went back for my second session of PT.  I learned a bunch of new exercises to do to strengthen my quads and straighten my tendon.  I got some great news… I can RUN 2 miles every other day or so…as long as it doesn’t hurt 🙂  Also great news, next Thursday I’ll have new insoles.  What’s up, old lady.

It’s weird typing that, considering two months ago I was going for 10+ mile runs every week. 

Because I can’t run much, I’ve been trying to change up my workouts to build muscle and get some endurance back.  Friday morning I got up early to do a little cardio at the gym before going to body pump.  Those body pumpers are serious people, and class was packed.  I really like the instructor because she talks the entire class and never calls anyone out for doing something wrong.  My muscles were definitely burning all day.

This morning I was dragged to kickboxing with the fave, which I’m really trying hard to like.  I just don’t think it’s for me.  I feel like I’m working really hard, but I never get very sweaty, and I don’t know if I’m really just not working hard or if I’m doing everything incorrectly.   After class I went for an AWESOME two mile run (I mean, it was 65 degrees… I couldn’t pass it up, and hey, two miles sounds long right now) outside, and I although it felt wonderful to be running, my lungs were having trouble keeping up.  I ran 2 miles in 17 minutes, and my legs felt good, but my breathing was off.  I swear my endurance now is down in the drain. 

Any tips on building up endurance quickly? 

Anyway, my body is sore this afternoon…but a good sore.  I’m really working those muscles I never knew existed…just like all the resolutioners. 

The rest of the weekend has been pretty lazy since I’m getting over a cold, but in a crazy change of pace, the fave and I went to see a movie last night.  I know, super crazy.  Third time in as many years. 

If you’ve read the book, you won’t be disappointed.  The movie really incorporated the important parts of the book so it was easily understandable, and it left out a bunch of the insignificant stuff.  Rooney Mara is amazing as Lizbeth, and Daniel Craig is not to tough to watch on the big screen for two and a half hours either. 

I did manage to choke three times on the mini sour sweet tarts, which was a good distraction to all the serious scenes, so…you’re welcome Bowtie patrons.

Are you doing anything fun this weekend?  Any new workouts in the plan?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Changing it up

  1. brooker

    Yes I am doing something fun tonight and you’re NOT going to be there! Sad sad face 😦 love you!

  2. Maggie

    To build up your endurance quickly do interval training. If you can only run two miles try to run them in the format of: 1 minute really fast (like as fast as you can go) then recover for 30 second or so. Lather, rinse, repeat. You can change that up depending on what is best for you. It will help your heart and lungs build endurance.

Leave a Reply

