Chicken Gyros!

Tonight for dinner I made the easiest ever crock pot chicken gyros.  First though… the rest of my day.

1.  SO MUCH CELEB NEWS. 

Seal and Heidi are getting divorced.  Tear.  For real.

heidi seal

Kristin Cavallari is prego.  Watch out world.  Poor kid.

kristin prego

2.  Because I have all the Spanish kiddos and all of them were gone testing, I had SIX kids for two hours this morning.  SIX. 

So…. in true teacher form and because we are learning about the water cycle, I put on some Bill Nye.  Does anyone remember Bill Nye the Science Guy?

Bill Nye the Science Guy

Hilarious.  And the kids love him.  It’s the same guy I used to wake up to watch at 6am on Saturday mornings.  Anyone else, or was I just that big of a cool kid?

3.  I’m having a hard time deciding on whether or not to buy new running shoes.  They’re on sale at Kellys Running Warehouse for $70.  SO CHEAP.

gel kayano

Here is my dilemma: 

  • Yes-  They’re SO cheap.  I’ll need them eventually. 
  • No- It’s the same EXACT pair I’ve had for the last 4 pairs.  I’m not running much right now because I’m still recovering, so I have probably only 150-200 miles on my current pair.

Help!

4.  At the gym this afternoon I wore my orthos the entire time! 

Huge deal, right?

  I did 35 minutes on the hard elliptical (with no hands!) and 20 minutes of running plus a little arms and abs.  Although they did bother me a little (still getting used to the enormous arch), I never got any little pins and needles pains.  So, I’m feeling pretty positive right now, and hoping for a looooooooong (longer than the last month and a half) five mile run this weekend.  I know, don’t go crazy, Kath, don’t go crazy.

5.  Okay, now the new recipe I got off Pinterest (and my PiC!).

Crockpot Chicken Gyros

  • 1.5 lb chicken breast
  • 1 medium purple onion
  • 2 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
  • 2 tsp dried organo
  • 1 tsp allspice

— Place chicken in crock pot with purple onion spread over it.  Season with lemon- pepper, oregano, and allspice.  Let cook on high for 2-3 hours.

In separate bowl, combine-

  • 1 cup plain nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 chopped cucumber
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • salt and pepper to taste

After chicken is cooked, combine tzatziki sauce and shredded chicken.  Serve with pitas (I used Flat Out Fold ‘Ems), tomatoes, cucumbers and hummus.  Also, feta cheese, if you’re a cheese-a-holic like me (not pictured). 

chicken gyros

They tasted amazing.. I had two, and would have had more if there was any chicken left.

Annnnnnnnnnnnnd I’m pretty sure this will be in my future…

thin mint ice cream

Anyone else have any good Monday stories?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Chicken Gyros!

  1. Sarah

    My son and I are having a random wii party in which I’m honing my snowball fight skilz!

  2. dude, buy the shoes. at 150-200 miles, you’re in the perfect spot to start rotating in new pair. it’s actually good to rotate shoes b/c it gives them time to come back to life, if you will, after all the pounding. it’ll actually make them last a little longer since you’re putting less mileage on them each week. I know, I know…you’re not really running that much right now. So if you don’t want to rotate, them stick them away in the closet and you’ll have a happy surprise (especially if you’re like me and realize at the last minute that you’ve exceeded your mileage and need shoes ASAP). And no, buying the same shoes isn’t a sign of a loser. If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it! I use a sharpie to write a number on the tongue of the shoe so I can keep track of which is which. I’ve had as many as 5 identical pairs during my marathon training.
    can’t wait to try the recipe. sounds amazing…

  3. I just came out of the wilderness and you drop the Heidi and Seal bomb on me? That seriously made me sad!!! Is that lame?!

  4. Buy the shoes!! A good deal on running shoes is too good to pass up!

    I’m so so sad about Heidi and Seal. They seemed so in love. I dont understand life in Hollyweird.

    Did you hear that Khloe is probably not a real Kardashian! CRAZY!!!

    I used to watch Bill Nye the Science Guy. Bill Bill Bill! I’m glad kids still watch that show!

Leave a Reply

