Chicken Jambalaya… and Friday

Yesterday started out with me wanting to throw my phone across the room when the alarm went off at 5:20.  I laid in bed trying to go back to sleep for 15 minutes, then decided I might as well get up and go to the gym.  I had sweats on, thinking it was January 27 and chilly.. but boy it was muggy and warm and it felt like April. 

I did 35 minutes on the red elliptical (aka the hard one) followed by 15 minutes on the stair master/ stair stepper/ whatever it’s called.  I had planned on doing a little circuit for my arms like I did Tuesday, but two things held me back.  1.  One of the scary trainers was taking up allllllll the space in the tiny area allotted for free weights and non-meatheads, and 2.  it was just about time for me to leave (shouldn’t have laid in bed those extra 15 minutes), so I did some abs and called it a morning.

On Fridays I like to reward myself with non-homemade coffee, and today I chose Starbucks.  Unfortunately for me, I spilled it all over myself and the seat on the way to work.  And I smelled like coffee all day. 

Luckily, I was wearing black stretchy pants (fitness club Fridays!) so no one could see where the stench was coming from. 

It was an absolutely gorgeous day in Richmond- warm, sunny, and pretty blue skies. 

january weather

Now I know that drive doesn’t look absolutely gorgeous, but looking at the sky put me in a great mood.

So great, that when I got home I threw some stuff in the Crockpot to make dinner for the fave. 

Chicken Jambalaya- Another Crockpot recipe- Modified from Fitness

  • 1.5 lbs of chicken breast, cut into pieces
  • 12 oz smoked chicken or turkey sausage
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 bag of frozen peppers and onions (I used 12 oz)
  • 1 box of jambalaya mix (I used Zatarain’s Reduced Sodium 8oz)

Place chicken, sausage tomatoes, water and frozen veggies in a crockpot.  Cook on low for 2-2.5 hours or high for 5-6 hours.  Stir in rice mix and cover and cook for 45 minutes more (or until liquid is absorbed) until rice is tender.  Enjoy!

chicken jambalaya

It was really filling and spicy, and I’ll definitely be making it again.  We have a ton of leftovers too, and I think it might be better cold than hot (just a few bites before breakfast is okay, right?)

I also made one of my favorite desserts- banana pudding- buuuuuut it was almost halfway eaten before I realized I hadn’t taken a picture.  Whoops. 

Anyway, after lying in bed and watching a couple of episodes of Homeland this morning, it’s now time to hit the gym.  I’ve got some new gear on today that I’ll tell you all about tomorrow! 

Get excited… because there might be a giveaway in the future!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

