Handy Dandy

I love lazy Sundays.

I also love lazy Sundays that turn into productive Sundays.

Yesterday, after approximately 2.5 hours of lying in bed drinking coffee (which came after 10+ hours of sleep), fave-ster and I decided to make the Sunday trek to the gym.

I thought we had agreed upon a full day of rest (you know, like God and Chick-fil-a intended) and a full day of movies and tv, but because it was so sunny and pretty we are going to hold off until next weekend.  I reeeeeeeally want to start season 4 of Dexter…hint, hint, hint.

I was a little sore from my humongous 6 miler Saturday (I get it.  It’s going to take awhile to get back), so after we ran the mile to the gym I decided on the red elliptical (30 minutes) and the stair stepper (10 minutes) before doing abs and walking a mile home.  I have just one episode left of Shameless and I have to say, I’m kind of sad about it.  Even though every episode I thank God that my life isn’t what’s on TV, it really helps pass the time when doing cardio, for which I’ve had ADD during lately.  My gym cannot be counted on for good, recent trashy mags either.  I need some new shows.

When I got home I made a surprisingly delicious protein shake (2 scoops Aria powder, 1 cup vanilla almond milk, 1/2 banana, 2 handfuls of spinach and a little cocoa powder). 

I decided to finally tackle Derby’s automatic feeder.

As you know, the pea brained little sneaker figured out how to stick her paw up into the turning mechanism and pick out food.  Unfortunately for me, this took out all the usefulness of actually having an automatic feeder.  Being the handy person I am (which isn’t much… my dad gave me the idea), and also being the fed up cat owner that’s been woken up at 4am lately for breakfast, I decided I was going to fix it or die trying.

I cut up a Greek yogurt lid and taped it behind the little plastic things that Derby’s bent out of shape. 

fixed feeder

Guess what… it works.  Hallelujah and praise Jesus! 

No longer can Derby get her grubby little paw up in there… and finally, I can turn the thing back on and forget about waking up at 4am.  I suddenly became handy and Derby suddenly is stalking around my apartment looking for crumbs. 

Poor girl… but I’m pretty sure she’d eat me out of house and home if I let her.

My accomplishment gave me the energy to talk the fave into going shopping (!!!) for some new bathroom stuff for his house (towels, rugs, accessories).  No bathroom stuff today, but we did end up purchasing some really cute end tables for the bedrooms!  Thank goodness because my side has been a TV tray for the last 2 years.

In our little adventure out in civilization, I managed to spend a boatload of money at World Market on random food items including gummy peaches.  Seemed like such a good idea at the time.  I also bought a set of 12 dinner forks— this may not sound like much to you, but as of a few months ago, I only had 3 forks.  I’m not sure what happened to the rest of them, but they are no where to be found, and rewashing 3 forks all week was turning into a pain. 

All of that activity really upped my appetite, so margharita pizza it was.

marg pizza (Old picture, same delicious pizza.)

After three cheesy slices and a piece of garlic bread, it was bedtime.

Perfect weekend.  I was handy, I had a good run, and I got to eat my favorite pizza (order of importance from least to greatest).

 

Did you do anything super handy this weekend?

Don’t forget to enter the Sweat Pink Giveaway!!

1 Comment

Filed under Derby, handy, Shameless, Sundays

One response to “Handy Dandy

  1. You are a genius. Seriously, way to Macguyver your way to a fixed auto feeder 🙂

    And the tank looks super cute on you – thanks again for doing the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

