It’s all broken.

All of it.  My legs, my Garmin, and my ipod.

Stupid running and stupid gadgets.

(Remember that time I hated my Garmin?  This was just like that.)

Yesterday after school,  I had planned on going to the gym for the sole purpose of finishing Season 1 of Shameless.. but because it was in the 60’s, I figured I might as well get in an outdoor run. 

Welp, a block in I realized that my ipod wasn’t locked… it just wasn’t working.  Sweet.  I’m praying that it just needed a battery charge.  I was tempted to just call it a day, but since I was already outside and in gym clothes, I figured I might as well go. 

Another couple of blocks in, I noticed that although my Garmin was tracking my time, it was not tracking my distance.  Awesome. 

My legs felt like lead and the orthies hurt, but I figure that I ran a little over 4 miles and can check it off the list.  Not great, but more than I had planned after my ipod didn’t work. 

My thoughts and hopes and dreams can only carry me so far without music… luckily, that gave me time to watch out for sticks and goose poop and meandering pedestrians in the middle of the sidewalks.

When I got home, I decided to do a quick arm circuit.  I did this 3x with about a minute rest in between each set.  Overhead presses kill me.  K.I.L.L. me.  I hate them, I’ve decided.

  • 30 alternating bicep curls
  • 20 triceps
  • 20 triceps dips
  • 30 alternating lateral raises
  • 20 overhead press
  • 20 upright rows
  • 50 crunches
  • 50 bicycle crunches
  • 25 leg up crunches
  • 25 in and outs

Although I like doing circuits at home better than at the gym (obviously it’s because I can watch How I Met Your Mother  and also because the judgmental trainers can’t stare at my lameness), I have much less motivation to actually complete them.  At one point during my circuit I just laid on the ground…motivation = zero.

The rest of yesterday was okay… tough after a sleepless that involved waking up at 3:50 and tossing and turning until about 5:30.  I hate it when that happens.

Luckily, someone in my house had a nice night of sleep before waking at 4 for breakfast and a little run around the apartment to get the heart rate up.  You know what they say, morning exercise does a body good.

kindle

Obviously the book I was reading aloud to her wasn’t keeping her interest. 

Do you workout with music?  If not, can you train me to not be so reliant on mine?

 

Don’t forget to enter the Sweat Pink Giveaway!! Closes tonight at 9est!

3 Comments

Filed under Circuit, Derby, Garmin, Ipod

3 responses to “It’s all broken.

  1. I need music, especially when I run! I had a run from hell yesterday too–3 miles has never felt so damn impossible!

  2. Kerry

    I give you props for being able to run 4 miles without music. I would have probably decided not to do it at all.

  3. I feel you on doing circuits (or any kind of workout) at home. Sometimes I need the imagined judgment of strangers to actually follow through and not just wimp out. The only time I can successfully workout without music is either when I’m watching TV, or when I have some issue I need to work through. Then I spend the run thinking it over and don’t even miss the music!

Leave a Reply

