It’s hard to type with a sliced finger.

I should know. 

Last night, when I was cutting my sweet potato into cute little medallions, I sliced my finger, nearly in half.  It was scary. 

Although my first thought was, damn it, fave, that’s why you shouldn’t have gotten me new knives for Christmas.  I like my non-sharp knives that won’t pierce the skin of a tomato.  Or cut my finger in half. 

It’s not very deep, but it did go across the middle of my ring finger nail, which hurt like a mofo.  For a second I thought about stitches and hospitals and blood and passing out… but after about 20 minutes I finally got a band aid to stay on and not bleed through.

I’d show you a picture, but I’m scared it would start to bleed again. 

Moral of the story- it’s hard to type with a sliced finger. And it kind of hurts.  The ring finger is an important finger… and not only for typing.  Shoot.

It’s also hard to lift weights with a sliced finger.  This morning I woke up early to complete a quick circuit and it hurt.

20 minute circuit

  • warm up– 1 minute jog in place, 1 minute jumping jacks, 1 minute butt kicks
  • 30 alternating bicep curls
  • 20 shoulder press
  • 20 triceps extensions
  • 20 triceps dips
  • 20 pushups
  • 30 alternating front lateral raises
  • 30 alternating front rows
  • 50 crunches
  • 25 bicycle crunches
  • 25 leg up with weights crunches
  • 30 sec font plank
  • 30 sec left side plank
  • 30 sec right side plank

Repeat the 2nd part twice and it took just a little over 20 minutes!

I wonder if it’s hard to do Zumba with a sliced finger.  I bet that’s what’s going to make me a terrible Zumba-er this morning at fitness club. 

zumba

If you didn’t know, my PiC and I run a fitness club for the girls at our school to get them interested in fitness.  We meet every Friday morning before school and teach them different ways to exercise.  So far we’ve done a month of running, soccer, yoga, basketball…and tomorrow starts zumba.

You might remember those beautiful pictures I posted of myself dancing.  Needless to say, I’m pretty sure the Zumba instructor is going to be quietly judging while watching me pretend I have coordination.

Today I’m also planning on attempting a 7 mile run after school.  I know that doesn’t sound like much to you big time runners, but it will be my longest in 2 months, which I’m very excited about.  There’s a half marathon I’d like to run on March 4, so in order for that to even be an option, I need to start training a little more….which means starting to add a longer run each week…

Luckily, I got my new skinnyrunner tank in the mail… so, it’s like a new outfit!  It’s the small things that motivate me. 

What are you doing this weekend?  I’m planning on making these… Heather swears they taste like heaven… I’m going to pretend they’re calorie free, obviously.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s hard to type with a sliced finger.

  1. OH, they seriously are so good!!!

    I tried to order the SR tank that said I want to punch running in the face, but she was all out of size small. Sigh.

  2. Having new workout gear is the best motivator to get out there and move 🙂 Skinny Runner’s shirts are so cute!

  3. two words for the finger…super glue. works like champ and keep the germies out!

Leave a Reply

