Gluten Free

Today’s workout-

Reward-

  • sushi and tater tots
  • beer
  • feeling totally great

Today I didn’t get out of bed until 7:20.  It was for real amazing.  I haven’t been in bed that late on a weekday for a loooong time… and I’m hoping to do it at least once a week from here on out.   I needed the extra 35 minutes- it’s amazing how much that actually helps do a  body good.

Speaking of, a few years ago, I worked at a school that was an hour away from my house.  And I had to be there by 8, which meant I had to leave no later than 7, which meant that I had to get up at the very latest at 6:30.  Usually I had to get up at 6, which suuuuuuuuucked.   When I switched districts, my commute was 18 minutes (precise, I am) and I didn’t have to be there until 8:30.  You have no idea how much my life changed in that year.  I got to sleep a whole extra five hours per week…. that is a ton of sleep and a much happier Kathleen. 

____________________________________________________________________________

Yep…that was a random tangent.  Never mind.  Sorry I wasted 15 seconds of your life.

Anyway, what I really wanted to talk about today was a gluten free diet.  Random, but I see it in every magazine I read and all over the grocery stores so I thought I’d share my tiny bit of knowledge about it with you and about how sick I’m hearing about a ‘gluten free diet’.

gluten-free

A gluten free diet is a diet that excludes food containing gluten, which is a protein found in wheat and some other foods.  It’s the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease (when you’re allergic to wheat).

Now, a few years ago I had a bunch of stomach problems- ulcers, bloating, stopped-up- ness… and one of the things that popped up on the radar was wheat. 

I ate cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and wasn’t a big vegetable fan (just ask my friends about the cabbage roll incident and the romaine lettuce I avoided like the plague).   So, after being diagnosed with IBS and being put on medicine (which subsequently was taken off the market…sweet), I was still having a ton of problems, so after some research, I decided to cut gluten out of my diet for awhile to see if it helped.

It helped a bit, but didn’t stop the pain I was having, so after getting a simple blood test, I found out that I was NOT allergic to gluten…which meant I could eat regular bread and cereal and pasta, hooray!  (Although I did find I liked those skinny little rice noodles a ton, plus Nut Thins…so crunchy and delicious.)

Anyway, here’s where my rant comes in, because I’m so sick of hearing people eating ‘gluten-free’ to lose weight. 

A gluten-free diet is NOT a diet plan, unless you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease. 

Guess what?  Gluten free bread often has way more calories than regular bread.  Oh, and that goes for pasta, and cereal, and wraps, and everything else. 

Yes, vegetables are gluten free.  Eat those.  But shoving a twice baked potato in your mouth everyday for lunch isn’t helping you lose weight, just because you’re not eating bread. 

Oh, and neither is eating the enormous Jimmy Dean’s bowl and ‘gluten free’ donut for breakfast. 

Stop being so stupid.  And stop spending $5 for a half a loaf of bread.  You’re wasting your money.

If you’re allergic to gluten, that’s one thing.  If you’re not, stop being dumb and eating ‘gluten free’ because you think it will help you lose weight.  Because it won’t, because that’s not how it works.  Just start noticing that every time you put a gluten-free Oreo in your mouth, you’re adding a zillion calories and grams of sugar that are going to stick with you until you start adding actual fruits and veggies to your diet.

Sorry to be so irritated about this, but it drives me crazy when adult people are so dumb about their eating/ “diet”.

Do you have any “diet” pet peeves or is it just me?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Gluten Free

  1. Hahaha, you make me laugh 🙂

    I’m jealous of your work schedule! I have to be at work by 7:30 (sometimes 7!) but it’s a 30 minute drive. I usually am up by 5:45 at the latest!

    • typically I’m at work by 7:45ish… but the fact that I don’t HAVE to be here until 8:30 really makes me happy… for those few and far between days when I want to sleep a little later 🙂

  2. Lucy

    Who the hell would go gluten free to lose weight? I’m allergic to gluten and have been gfree for almost 2 years and not only does not eating gluten totally suck, but I have actually gained weight! Awesome, right? Anyways, anyone who would voluntarily go gluten free to lose weight (and money) is stupid. Go eat a cheeseburger people… Wish I could!

  3. Evie

    Diet peeve – chocolate is high calorie and salt is not good for you. If I could eliminate those perhaps I could lose 10 pounds….oh and exercise might help. Love Mom

  4. Megan

    Love your blog…. I too am so sick of people talking about lossing wieght on a gluten free diet!! I have Celiac disease so I have to be gluten free. People just think it’s the new fad diet….a cookie is still a cookie even if its gluten free!!!

  5. I love when people think they are going to lose weight because they are eating low carb, but they eat a 32 oz steak. Um, that steak can still make you fat my friend. Your body can only process so much protein at once.

  6. ordering a diet coke to go with your big mac “supersize” meal. nice.

Leave a Reply

