8 miles before school? Crazy.

I knew Friday was going to be a busy day since the fave’s BFF and wife were coming to town, so I had to wake up before Derby to get to the gym to do my long run.

Okay, that’s a lie.  Derby was already up. 

I got up at 5 and completed an 8 mile run before school.  It was amazing for two reasons. 

1.  I actually did it.

2.  I didn’t have any foot pain!

It took about 71 minutes and an episode and a half of Downton Abbey.  My legs didn’t feel like lead and my lungs actually worked, so it was perfect all around.  

Plus,  I had the secret ladies gym all to myself until Anna Anorexia came in and glared at me for having a bagel (in a bag) on the treadmill (sometimes I get hungry working out early in the morning…. I thought it would be smart to have on hand, just in case).  What I wanted to do was just rip open the bag and chow down on the bagel… but then I wouldn’t have finished the run. 

So I didn’t… and the run felt great. 

We had Zumba before school for Fitness Club, and the girls started to really get into it.  We’ve got a few of them signed up for the 1 mile Fun Run for the Monument 10k (thanks to Sportsbackers for waiving the entry fee!), so it looks like all this fitness/ exercising talk is paying off!

monument10k

Friday night the fave and I went to dinner with his BFF and wife at Zeus Gallery Cafe.  We’ve been there a couple of times and I always get the shrimp and grits.  I’m one of those people who orders the same thing every time if I like something.  This time though, I decided to be adventurous and branch out and get some sort of tile fish with quinoa.  It was pretty good, but I missed the bacon-y grits that came with the shrimp.  I just need to stick to what I know from now on.

Yesterday’s workout was pretty boring and almost not worth mentioning, if not for the fact that I’m in the middle of my LAST episode of Downton Abbey and there have been a couple of shocking events.  I did 40 minutes on the red elliptical and 15 minutes on the stair stepper, plus a tiny little arm circuit.  I’ve only got about 25 minutes left of the show and am really worried about how I’m ever going to workout without TV again. 

Last night, after hearing the news of Whitney Houston’s death (just as sad as Bernie Mac…maybe even more so), I downed some wine and smoked gouda.

wine whitney

Okay, that’s a lie.  I was doing that waaaaaaay before the news broke of W.H.’s death.  Obviously.  It being Saturday night and all.

This morning I woke up to this little booger snuggling down under the covers.

snuggle

She was not amused with my picture taking annoying-ness.  Luckily, this picture was taken after I woke up on my own (not by Derby at 3:15), so we were friends. 

My Sunday consists of cleaning, laundry and gym… if I can ever get off the couch and from under the covers.   It’s 20 degrees out… going to take a little extra motivation today!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Derby, Downton Abbey, food, Long run

2 responses to “8 miles before school? Crazy.

  1. Nice work on the run! It’s 9 degrees out so i’m debating the treadmill vs. outside….but I hate the treadmill. Sigh. Tough decisions.

Leave a Reply

