The most complicated lasagna ever.

I have a great healthy lasagna recipe to share.  I got it off Yahoo’s “Pasta Make-over” article and changed a couple of things in the process.

Unfortunately, it’s pretty complicated… not like most of my recipes that involve only the crockpot.   This recipe originally called for a dutch oven (don’t even know what that is) and a food processor (don’t have one).  So, I improvised a little and after slaving away in the kitchen, the lasagna turned out great. 

Low Fat Turkey Lasagna

  • 1 lb sliced mushrooms
  • 2 chopped carrots
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 chopped onion
  • olive oil
  • 3 tbs tomato paste
  • 2- 28 oz cans of whole tomatoes (These should be food processed… I just chopped a ton.)
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • bay leaf
  • basil
  • lasagna noodles (no boil)
  • 2 cups of milk (I used skim)
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 5 tablespoons flour
  • salt and pepper

1.  Chop carrots, mushrooms, onions, and garlic.  (The recipe called for food processing them, but since I don’t have one, I had to just chop.  A lot.)  Cook onions in oil, salt and pepper until translucent.  Add veggies and cook over medium high heat for 7-10 minutes, until juice has been evaporated. 

Add tomato paste and cook until paste has browned.

lasagna1

2.  Stir in turkey and 1 cup of milk and cook until most of the liquid has evaporated (7 minutes).  

lasagna2

3.  Add tomatoes, 1 cup of chicken broth and bay leaf.  Simmer until most of the liquid has evaporated (45-60 minutes).  I’d recommend leaving some of the liquid in the mix.   I put everything in a large pot since there wasn’t enough room in the pan.  After liquid has evaporated, remove bay leaf and add basil, salt and pepper.

lasagna3

4.  Meanwhile, whisk 1 cup of broth, 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of parmesan cheese, flour and salt and pepper in separate skillet until smooth.  Cook over medium high heat for about 2 minutes until mixture has thickened. 

lasagna4

5.  Oven should be preheated to 425 degrees, and now it’s finally time to assemble the lasagna!! YES!

Layer 13 x 9 baking dish with sauce and lasagna noodles, repeating 3 times.  Top off with cheesy mixture, leaving a little space between the edges of the dish.

lasagna5

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until cheese is bubbly. 

Final product:

lasagna6

6.  Eat. 

If I were making this again I’d add some spinach leaves between layers just to get a little more veggies in there—but, I have to say, this might be one of the best (although the most intense) lasagna casseroles I’ve made.

 

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The most complicated lasagna ever.

  1. wow that was a lot of work. no food processor…think blender on pulse mode. also, consider eggplant in place of noodles for even more veggies! just slice it like noodles and broil for 4-6 minutes, then use it in place of noodles.
    i just found a veggie burger recipe i’m dying to try. it’ll prob take me like a year to make it but i’ll let you know how it goes!
    you’re running shamrock right?

    • I was at the fave’s cooking dinner, and shockingly, he doesn’t have a blender. What adult doesn’t have a blender? Ha! I love the eggplant idea… I’ve heard that before, but didn’t even think about it this time!
      I’d love the veggie burger recipe (if it tastes good, duh)!
      Yes, I’m running Shamrock- did you end up getting Leah’s??

Leave a Reply

