Chicken and Green Curry

So last night I tried a new recipe and it was so easy (under 20 minutes) and delicious (no leftovers).  I got it out of my Williams-Sonoma colorful cookbook (or something like that).  I modified it a tiny bit and no one got sick, so it’s a win in the cooking department.

Chicken and Green Curry

  • 1.5 tbs oil
  • 1 tsp Thai green curry paste
  • 1 package boneless skinless chicken tenders
  • 1/2 tsp Asian fish sauce
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 3 tsp low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 long green chile, seeded and minced (I forgot this…whoops)
  • 1 package snow peas, trimmed
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • Brown rice for serving

Heat oil and Thai green curry paste for about a minute over medium-high heat.  Add chicken and cook until white, about four minutes.  Next, add Asian fish sauce and 1/2 of coconut milk and simmer for 2 minutes.  Add the rest of the coocnut milk and chicken broth (and chile if you want it) and cook for 6-7 minutes.  Finally, add snow peas and mushrooms and cook for another 1-2 minutes.  Serve over brown rice.

thai chicken green curry

SO EASY…and that’s actually my picture.  Sorry for the blurriness but I have to say the presentation was top notch.   Although when I make it again I’ll make more of the sauce- so more coconut milk, chicken broth and fish sauce.  I feel like recipes always jip you on the sauce, and this recipe definitely did.

 

Sooooooo I lost my voice.  I sound like a 15 year old boy when I talk…. kind of like Zack Morris when he’s trying to impress Kelly.

zack morris

The kids are taking full advantage of this, pretending like they don’t hear me when I talk.  I think tomorrow we’re going to have a sign language day and no one is going to be allowed to speak.  At all. 

Speaking of the kids, I thought I was being super cool teacher yesterday when we made cup-o-dirts- obviously to teach them the five different layers of soil.

cupofdirt1

There are the rocks (chocolate covered raisins), clay (vanilla pudding with red food coloring), silt (crushed oreos yum), sand (crushed nilla wafers) and humus (chocolate pudding). 

cupofdirt2

Plus gummy worms and gummy bugs, just for fun.

You’d think the kids would LOVE this activity- Free food that every kid loves, fun project instead of boring Miss B teaching… well nope.  I had a few complainers today when I asked them to tell me the different layers.  Rolling eyes and loud sighs galore.

Geez… I’m just so annoying when I’m actually trying to get them to learn something.  Just trying to do my job, kids.  Just trying to do my job.

So, after work I ran off all my annoyances in a 5 mile 41 minute run.  It was pretty tough, and I had originally planned to do 6, but I decided 5 was enough on a day where I’m feeling less than stellar.  I had to stop and blow my nose three times, but other than that, my legs felt like they enjoyed moving, which is a good thing.

I’m running in my favorite 10k this weekend.   I usually shoot for a time, but this year I’m just going to enjoy it and try not to break my ankle on the cobblestones. 

Anyone else running this weekend?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chicken and Green Curry

  1. I’m run/walking this wknd!!! 😉 recipe looks good! Any idea on nutritional info?

    • Without the rice, I’d say it’s about 250 per serving, depending on how mcuh chicken you use. The coconut milk only had 50 calories in 1/3 cup, and I just used 1 cup. So- not bad at all!

  2. Oh and btw, dontcha wish u could tell the kids they’re soooo annoying by being annoying?!?? Lol I wish I could tell my kids that all the time! Younguns, I tell ya. 😉

Leave a Reply

