Busy Weekend plus Mexican Lasagna

Before I forget the recipe, here it is-

Crockpot Mexican Lasagna

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernal
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1- 12 oz package corn tortillas
  • 2 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend
  • 2 16 oz jar salsa

1.  Heat oil in sauce pan and cook onions for 3 minutes.  Add garlic and sauté for another minute.   Next, add ground turkey, cumin, salt and chili powder and cook until cooked through.  Place aside.

2.  In a large bowl, whisk egg and sour cream together.  Add turkey mixture, carrots, corn and cilantro and mix to combine.  ++Next time I’m adding a can of black beans as well.++

3.  Spread 1 cup of salsa on bottom of crock pot.  Layer tortillas on top of salsa.  Layer 1/2 of turkey mixture on top of tortillas and top with 1 cup salsa and 1/2 cup of cheese.

4.  Add another layer of tortillas, remaining turkey mixture, and 1/2 cup of cheese.  Finally top lasagna with another layer of tortillas, salsa and cheese.

5.  Cook on low for 2.5-3 hours.

mexican lasagna

It was delicious- took a little more prep than I’d like, but definitely worth it.   The only change I’d make is adding black beans to make it more Mexican-y.

 

Anyway, making Mexican lasagna wasn’t the only thing I did this weekend. 

Saturday the fave and I ran a bunch of errands and bought him a ton of stuff.  I was the perfect shopping companion…and then I found these at Marshalls (except in dark purple).

under armour

I tried them on this morning and they almost feel exactly like these:

better than naked

And I am really excited about them.  And my life must be terribly lame.

 

Sunday the fave and I drove up to DC to spend Easter Sunday with my parents and brother.  We went to a beautiful old church in Old Town Alexandria and had a delicious brunch after.  We walked around for a bit and enjoyed the beautiful weather with some Bloody Marys.  Seems appropriate.

easter rob and i

Clearly I am still in my “Kentucky just won the national championship” mode- hence the blue coat and purse.  I’m not ready to stop talking or thinking about it just yet.   Also- the rule is white pants after Easter, right?  I might be wrong on that.  Oh well.

I finally (a month and a week later) got my birthday gifts from my presents and my favorite strawberry shortcake birthday cake.  I wish I had taken a picture but I was too busy shoving full fat cool whip and strawberry jelly stuff  and some sort of angel food in my face.

This weekend was busier than I like… luckily I have an entire week off and hopefully will be sleeping past 7am half of the days.

Happy Monday!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Busy Weekend plus Mexican Lasagna

  1. this looks like Heaven in a crockpot. Just sayin’!

Leave a Reply

