Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m not sure why I decided to make Mondays my two a days… but that’s what I said a few weeks ago so I got up early yesterday morning and left a nice warm bed to run 3 miles before work.  My legs were really tired from my one fast mile on Sunday (I know, it’s ridiculous), but it felt good to get my muscles moving.  I felt like I was going sooooooooooo slow, but slow is better than nothing, so I’ll take it for a Monday morning workout. 

After school I headed to the gym to do a boring 40 minutes on the elliptical plus abs and arms.  Can someone make me an arm workout and make me stick to it??  I am terrible at actually doing anything for more than 3 minutes. 

When we went to Costco this weekend I purchased 10lbs of Quaker Oats.   (Yes, that says 110 servings.)

chewy oatmeal chocolate chip

Naturally, I needed to open it immediately and make something delicious.  Since I was craving cookies but didn’t have any raisins, I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies using this recipe from skinnytaste.

Lowfat Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2tbsp unsalted butter (I’m pretty sure I used salted and they still taste great.)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 3/4 cups chocolate chips

1.  Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

2.  In separate bowl, cream together butter, sugars, egg, applesauce and vanilla.  Next, add flour mixture and oats.  Stir until blended.   Finally, stir in chocolate chips. 

3.  Drop by tablespoon onto greased cookie sheets and bake in 350* for 10-12 minutes.  Let cool on cookie sheet and transfer to wire rack. 

These cookies are amazing.  They’re really tasty and are actually good for you, if you don’t eat 15 in one sitting.  I ate about 7 before hiding them from myself.

Do you have any good and easy recipes using oatmeal?  I’ve got about 10 lbs to waste. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. So funny you posted this today. I was just thinking about making a batch of chocolate chip oatmeal cookies for my Dad & nephew but didn’t want to look for a recipe, haha. Now I can make these!

Leave a Reply

