Stuffed Green Peppers

One of my friends reminded me that yesterday was “Hug Your Cat Day”.   Reminded or informed…same thing.

Obviously, Derby got some unwanted hugging after work… I think she’d prefer “Feed Your Cat Extra Day” but since she’s not the one calling the shots, hugging was as much love as she got. 

hug

You can tell she loves it by the tiny glare coming from her right eye.  And the outstretched claw. 

It’s getting to the point in the school year where it’s incredibly hard to keep any sort of attention span for more than 2.3 minutes at a time (don’t forget that we haven’t even taken any of those big SOL state tests yet… let’s wait until it’s really almost summer to put the kids and teachers through those..hehehe those sneaky board of education folks), so by the end of the school day, I am ready for a workout.

Yesterday was one of those days when I needed to get rid of some energy, so after running a mile I decided I was going to do some speed work.   I wasn’t really mentally prepared for it, but churned it out anyway and ended up with:

  • 1 mile warm up
  • 6 x 800/400
  • 1 mile cool down

I ended up running 6.6 miles (why I stopped at the .6 I could not tell you) in 52 minutes… my legs were burning and I started to feel tired near the end, but overall it felt like a good, fast run.  I also lifted my legs for about 15 minutes before getting annoyed at the meat-head crowd staring at their muscles and stealing/ resting on the machines.

After my cuddle time with Derby and singing her sweet lullaby’s so she would feel special (I mean, it’s the least I can do, right?  Her food is limited and living in a 400 sq ft apartment probably isn’t the most exciting life), I got ready to make dinner.  I’ve made stuffed peppers so many times that now I’ve got it down to a quick science… although in real life it takes about 45-60 minutes.  It reminds me of when I was little because this may have been one of the only foods I would eat without my parents threatening my life. 

There might have been one time when I kept a bite of mashed potatoes in my mouth for 20 minutes because I was refusing to eat… so anytime my mom could make something that I actually enjoyed, it was a win.

Stuffed Green Peppers (stolen and adapted from Betty Crocker)

  • 4-6 green peppers, with tops and seeds removed
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 2 cups brown rice, cooked
  • 1- 15oz can tomato sauce
  • 3.4 cup shredded mozzarella or Italian cheese

1.  Preheat oven to 350*.   Put green peppers and a little water into baking dish and cover with saran wrap.  Cook in microwave for 5-7 minutes, until pepper is slightly soft.

2.  In skillet, cook turkey an onion in 1 tbs olive oil (about 8 minutes).  Add minced garlic, cooked rice and 1/2 of the tomato sauce.  Mix together.

3.  Stuff peppers with turkey/rice mixture and pour remaining sauce over the tops.  Cover tightly with foil and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Next, remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes.  Finally, add cheese and serve!

green peppers 

They turned out great- next time I’m going to use a little more garlic and add Worcestershire sauce for a little more flavor.  They got eaten, which is all that matters.  And no one got sick.

This weekend is going to be a busy one.  Like I said before, it’s Derby weekend and clearly that takes precedence over anything else… but because of some connections, I get to meet some big wig this weekend too.  It’s going to be a pretty busy little Saturday around here. 

 

What are you doing this weekend?  Derby picks?

It looks like #4, Union Rags, has a pretty decent chance at winning this weekend.  There’s a super sketchy OTB place that I’ll be hitting up before the races.  I’m bringing my alpha as protection. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

