Derby and President… all in the same day

There are 29 days left of school. 

Six weeks.

Five Mondays.

Four SOL tests.

Three more fitness clubs.

Two half days.

One more year in the books.

And I cannot wait.

 

This weekend was one of those weekends where there was so much going on that I almost missed it all. 

derby shirt “Down and Derby”

Saturday started out with a quick workout before getting ready to go meet the President.  Yep, this guy.

obama

If you know me in real life, you know that I’m not particularly political.  At all.  I dislike the political drama that goes on between family members on Facebook and I believe politics are like religion- I won’t judge you for your beliefs if you don’t judge mine, and I’d prefer you not try and impose everything you believe onto everyone else you ever meet.  I tend to lean more to the right than the left, but really, if someone says they can get you in to meet the President of the United States, it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity, duh I’m going.

Anyway, one of my best friends Roz works for the DNC and when President Obama announced he’d be in Richmond for a rally, she offered to get the fave, my mom and I clearance to get a picture with the president.

Yes, please!

It was such an amazing experience.  Barack is a lot smaller than I thought he’d be- he’s pretty skinny- and Michelle Obama is really beautiful in person and they were both so friendly.  I clammed up and didn’t say anything I had planned and I didn’t get to brag about my school at all or talk education with him, buuuuuuuut I guess being kind of star struck will do that to you.  We were in a group of about 30 other people, so it was a cool, intimate experience. 

Besides meeting the president, I think my favorite part was when one of the super classy people at the rally started belting out the national anthem trying to best the singers on stage. It was seriously awkward.  Or the woman who sat behind me who screamed “Halleluiah” and “Yes, Jesus” at least 73 times.    I had to try really hard to keep a straight face. 

We hightailed it out of there to race to a bar to do the second most important thing of the day… drink a mint julep and watch the biggest horse race of the year, the Kentucky Derby.  Julep wasn’t amazing… but if I can’t get to the Derby, I can pretend, right?

mint julep

Of course Union Rags didn’t win.  Typical performance for the #4 horse. 

Hint:  If you ever want to win money at a horse race, pick any horse that is NOT #4.  I always lose.

After the race, the fave and I went out to dinner and had our share of beers to celebrate Cinco de Mayo.  By the time we got home I face planted into the bed only to wake up at 3:30 and basically never fall back to sleep.  That was awesome.

Sunday always seems to sneak up on me and all of the sudden, it’s the beginning of the work week again.

I started out with a 7 mile run that felt great.  I kept my miles at about an 8:30 pace, which felt really good.  I probably could have done more, but decided to call it quits in favor of lunch.  I really think when I take a day off of running (like this week, I just ran one mile to the gym on Saturday), my longer runs are so much easier the next day.  As much as I loathe the elliptical, it’s helping my legs stay fresh for runs.

The rest of the day I spent cleaning the bathroom, scrubbing the carpet, vacuuming, and all those other stupid chores that we have to do as adults.  I was slightly productive, plus, I didn’t spend the day spending money on unnecessary things like usual.

 

Here’s to another Monday… don’t forget, it’s Teacher Appreciation Week! 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

