2nd Fattest City

To start off, yesterday we got this as a treat for teacher day.

teacher appreciation day 2

I’m pretty sure their intent is to sugar high us up so we don’t realize all the craziness that is happening around us.

Yesterday afternoon I had a really difficult 5 mile run.  I wasn’t feeling it, and neither was my stomach.  (Read:  Not one, but two—breaks had to be taken, tmi?)  It was pretty miserable.  I kept thinking I’d eventually just get in the groove, but it never happened.  There were at least 4 times when I told myself to just stop… but I stuck it out and got ‘er done.

While I was running, I kept thinking about this article I read…which helped keep me motivated.  Apparently, Richmond is the 2nd fattest city in America. 

SECOND FATTEST. 

We have 29% of people who are obese.

Only 58% of people eat produce regularly. 

Only 50% of people exercise regularly.

fat_city

I’m pretty shocked about this, actually, because I feel like Richmond is the most active place I’ve lived.  Young people here play sports, run, bike, hike and do a bunch of other active stuff all of the time.  I always see people out on my runs, whether it’s 5am on a Saturday morning or a Thursday night at 8. 

My other issue is- ONLY 58% of people who live here eat produce regularly???  What in the world do people eat if they’re not getting fruits and veggies at least once a day?  At least once????

Speaking of not eating produce, last night for dinner I made carbs.  Delicious, nutritious carbs.  It’s been weeks since we’ve made carbs for dinner, and oh my gosh I forgot how much I missed them.  Yum.

(Don’t worry, I had my produce during the day in salad and apple form.)

Radicchio Risotto with Prosciutto

  • 1 wedge radicchio, halved
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2.5 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 tsp butter
  • 2 tsp minced shallot
  • 1 1/4 cups arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/2 oz thinly sliced prosciutto

1.  Preheat broiler on low, place radicchio on pan and brush with 1/2 olive oil.  Broil until browned, about 3 minutes on each side.  Chop and set aside.

2.  Combine broth and water in saucepan and simmer over low heat.

3.  Melt 2 tsp butter and 1 tsp olive oil in large saucepan over medium high heat.  Add shallot and cook 1 minute.  Next, add rice and stir until grains are well coated.

4.  Add 1/2 cup broth, reduce heat and stir until broth is absorbed.  Continue until only a few tbsps broth remain. 

5.  Add last of broth, 1 tsp butter and parmesan cheese and stir until melted. 

6.  Stir in radicchio and torn pieces of prosciutto and serve!

risotto with radicchio 

Picture quality isn’t amazing but when is it ever?  It tastes better than this picture.

 

Welp, friends, we made it half way through the week.  If I make it through our math simulation today without keeling over, I’ll call it a win.

 

Do you eat produce regularly?  If you live in Richmond, do you believe this survey?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “2nd Fattest City

  1. i’m a big fan of relay foods and their produce and other local yummy goodies 🙂 and yes, quite honestly, the survey DID surprise me!!!

  2. I’m vegetarian so I definitely eat produce daily. It’s surprising to hear that Richmond is the second fattest city. That cant be right!

  3. Bekah

    I’m going to start coming to dinner at your place 🙂 you always make delicious looking meals!!!

Leave a Reply

