Brian Regan

Last night, the fave and I headed downtown to the Carpenter Theater to see comedian Brian Regan (he’s performed on David Letterman a few times).  Carpenter Theater is really old (built in 1928) and used to be a Loew’s movie theater (which I just now found out by googling).  After being closed for a few years, it reopened in 1983 as a center for performing arts.  (I act like I knew all this stuff before five minutes ago, but I didn’t.) 

Why do you care?

Let’s be honest, you probably don’t care at all, but if you’ve never been—and you live in Richmond—you should go.  It’s beautiful and I tried to get good pictures (adding to the embarrassment of the people around me) but they didn’t  turn out at all…sooooooooooo here’s a couple from a Google.

carpeneter theater

 

Anyway, the theater is beautiful and there really isn’t a bad seat in the house. 

We went with friends Dru and Toast, and to be honest, since I had never heard of Brian Reegan before last week, I was a little skeptical.  I don’t want to sound like a comedy show snob, but the only people I’ve ever seen perform are Jerry Seinfeld and Tosh.O.  I go big. 

**Thanks Dru and Toast for the tickets!  So fun!**

brian reegan dru toast

brian reegan us

 

I also was a little skeptical when we walked in and saw kids everywhere.  EVERYWHERE.  So, unless everyone there couldn’t get a babysitter or are terrible parents, it must be a clean show. 

And it was.

But it was hilarious.  So funny, and not a bad word or crude joke in the house.

The guy that opened for Brian wasn’t funny.at.all.  I don’t remember his name but I’d never recommend going to see him…. he talked with a weird inflection at the end of his sentences like he was fading out his voice and asking a question.  After he did it 32 times, it wasn’t funny.

Brian was hilarious- his jokes were clean and humorous, but his actions and facial expressions really sold the show.  I am pretty sure I snorted at least once, and I didn’t stop smiling the entire time.  He stayed on stage forever too, and even did an encore. 

Here are a few of youtube videos in case you’re interested.

 

 

 

It was a really fun night, and besides the worst service ever (plus probably a little spit in our food) at dinner, I had a blast. 

So much of a blast that it was reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally difficult to get up this morning and get my Friday workout in. Let’s just say my head and my body were not happy at 5:30am when my alarm went off.

My legs felt like lead and my lungs felt like I was running through inches of smog every second.  Whatever, I actually got up so that’s something, right?  6 miles down in the am, 2 in the pm (lungs wanted to quit their job at this point), so total 8 miles at about an 8:50 pace for the day.  Not terrible, not amazing, and not weight lifting but it will make up for the wine I’m planning on drinking tonight.

Have you gone to any comedy shows?  Comedy clubs?

 

Any big plans for the weekend?

My plans include wine, Dominion Riverrock, and sleeping past 7.  I hope.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

