It’s SUMMER!!!!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!!  SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(There’s a lot of food pictures in this post so browse at your own risk.) 

Friday was the last half day of school, and since we are all so awesome and hip and excited to celebrate…this happened.

IMAG1780

mex
SO.MANY.CHIPS.  Too many chips = food coma.. sooooo I didn’t finish that big ol quesadilla, but I did have a few of those lovely corona lights.  Hellooooooooooooo summer!! 

 

After a fun afternoon with the girls celebrating our freedom from 20 kids and early wake up calls, the fave and I had date night to continue the celebration.

We headed to Mint, which is a sister restaurant to the place we celebrated my birthday earlier this year, and it has fantastic southern food.  Plus, it’s like a block away so we can walk, which we both love.

We started with the Pimento Mac and Cheese (my mom would love this stuff), and it was so different than any other mac and cheese I’ve ever had, but so delicious.  I don’t usually like pimento cheese but in this it was amazing.

mint- mac and cheese

I couldn’t decide what I wanted for dinner (I thought they had shrimp and grits- my go to dish..dang) so I settled on the fried green tomatoes and wedge salad with root beer onion rings…YUM.

mint- fgt

mint- wedge

That peppadew aioli sauce on the fried green tomatoes is amazing.  AMAZING.  I have no idea what is in it but I could eat that on anything… and I’m sure it’s super healthy so don’t tell me what’s in it if you know.

The fave and I had so much fun on date night, but because I’m so lame on Fridays (not anymore, hello summer!), I was asleep by 10:30 again.  I fell asleep during Hell’s Kitchen and Robin/ Robyn bit**ing out everyone for being terrible.

 

Saturday was really relaxing with a trip to the gym, errands, and a bunch of reading.   I tried my hand at homemade pizza, and I’m happy to say, it turned out way better than last time!  I wasn’t 100% impressed with the Trader Joe’s whole wheat crust, but at least it was edible this time.

homemade pizza

No judgment on the roundness of the pizza, please.  When your rolling pin is only 4.5 inches long, sometimes there are problems.

 

Yesterday was another relaxing day (this is going to be the theme of the summer), so after taking the fave to the airport I headed out for a 7 mile run.  I saw my PiC and Michelle along the way and yelled at them like a creepy stalker at least 5 times but apparently their super important conversation was too intense to look up for .5 seconds.   Instead of trying to stalk them the entire run I just continued alone, came home and iced my shin (maybe a splint?) and stretched a bunch. 

I spent a couple of hours at the pool finishing my book and trying to pretend I’m tan.

pool day 1

So many people, I know.

 

Now, here’s to hoping I sleep in past 7 this Monday morning!

 

Did you do anything fun this weekend?  Any pool time?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s SUMMER!!!!

  1. Michelle

    Oh yes, important stuff. I think our convo went something like this, “Man, I’m dying today. It’s so hot and my HR is through the roof!” It was a recurring theme for me yesterday. And in my defense I’m completely deaf! If you’re not looking right at me, I can’t hear a thing. We saw you right before turning off Ellwood but you had your music thing going so we figured you wouldn’t hear us. Sorry we missed you!
    I spent my first day of summer vacay at county court for a stupid custody case. Why do parents feel it’s necessary to drag teachers into their domestic issues?!? Hope your first morning off was better than mine!

    • Ugh I can’t believe you had to go to court on your first day off! What a bummer!
      Sorry you all were too engrossed in convo to hear me 🙂 Maybe next time we can all run together… and end it with a pool date!

  2. Michelle

    Oh and I’m down for pool time if anyone happens to have one I can crash (hint, hint!). We can discuss shins and stuff…. :o)

  3. evie

    What book are you reading? Just got Kitchen House.

Leave a Reply

