Back to the Grind…

Kind of.

Monday’s workout: 6 mile run, 10 minutes bike, abs

Yesterday marked the start of summer school. 

Every summer I tell myself it’s totally worth the extra cash and every summer on the first day I ask myself why on earth I sign up for this…fun. 

summer school That kid is crazy.

 

I was just starting to learn to sleep in, but alas, now I’m back to getting up earlier than usual to go hang with a bunch of kiddies for a few weeks. 

Okay, okay, it’s not that bad. 

It’s only half days (when did four hours get so long?) and it’s only 15 kids (still seems like a lot though) and it’s only for 10 days (I’m job sharing), but it’s still a big X right through my summer vacation.

Although, since this is paying for an actual vacation, I guess I shouldn’t complain.

Sunday night I barely slept- must have been the anticipation of the first day of school- so I treated myself to a nice nap in the afternoon.  The nap was great- what wasn’t great was trying to force myself to the gym after. 

I made it though, and while I was running I decided I needed a goal.  I’m not ready to commit to another marathon just yet (maybe later this summer I will be), but I’d like to start looking for half marathons in the next few months.

Do you know of any half marathons in or around Virginia in July or August?

It’s sometimes hard for me to keep up my running (especially running longer distances) when I don’t have a race on the horizon.  I’m such a mental runner that if I’m not in a competitive mind frame, I’m not going to put my best foot forward.

4 Comments

Filed under summer school

4 responses to “Back to the Grind…

  1. Liz

    I am doing the Patrick Henry Half Marathon in Ashland on August 25th.

Leave a Reply

