Exercising your brain aka avoiding dementia.

Thursday’s Workout:  45 minutes on the elliptical, free weights

Thursday was supposed to be an off day, but since I was bored and it was kind of cloudy, I headed to the gym after summer school.  The only problem is, in the 12 minutes I allotted myself to get ready in the morning, I forgot to pack my ipod and kindle.  

The time on the elliptical was even more monotonous than normal. 

Better than going home and eating my fridge though, right?

Right.

When I did get home I did eat my fridge.   Then I proceeded to take a nice nap.

It was fantastic.

__________________________________________________

Yesterday, as I was trudging away on the stupid elliptical trying to make sure my feet didn’t fall asleep, I read this month’s Shape magazine. 

As if you didn’t know that exercising keeps you healthy, keeps the pounds from packing on, blah blah blah,  you may not know all the benefits exercising does for your brain.

  • As little as 30 minutes cycling can improve memory (gotta get back into that…).
  • When you maintain a moderate level of cardiovascular fitness you are less likely to die of dementia (score!).
  • 30 minutes of jogging can improve cognitive and comprehension skills (guess who’s students are running everyday next year?).
  • If you get moving for at least 2 hours a week you are (up to) 85% less likely to become depressed (and eat 17 cartons of ice cream in one sitting).
  • Just 40 minutes of vigorous activity a day for a few months can up your IQ (if you’re not already a genius, that is) by a few points.  Hey, there’s a big difference between a 75 and a 79 on that bell curve. 

Obviously I’m going to try and go for genius status in three months…

 

Anyone else out there hate the elliptical as much as I do?

1 Comment

Filed under brain

One response to “Exercising your brain aka avoiding dementia.

  1. I loathe the elliptical, love the arc trainer 🙂

Leave a Reply

