Hiking Big Run

Saturday morning I woke up and talked the fave into going hiking… something we have never done together. 

We don’t go hiking apart either, so this was one of those ‘something new’ things we could check off the list.

I’m not a hiker.  I had to call my best friend to find out about:

  • Where to hike around Richmond
  • Can I wear old running shoes and not hiking boots?
  • What clothes do I wear?
  • TICKS?????

Needless to say I’m sure she got off  the phone laughing at my idiotic questions.  However, the advice to wear long socks was key to not bringing home those pesky ticks. 

Dru directed us to the Shenandoah National Park and www.hikingupwards.com to find a trail. 

The fave and I decided we wanted to get a good workout, but not be hiking for 5+ hours (it was already 11:30 by the time we left Richmond, whoops), so we settled on Big Run, which is a 6 mile hike that takes about 2.5- 3 hours to complete and is a level 3 (out of 5) difficulty. 

By the time we drove got lunch, drove to the park, and got to the trail, it was already a little after 2pm.  Luckily, when you’re up that high the temperature drops a bit and it wasn’t too hot.

The beginning and end of the hike had awesome views.

big run 1 big run 2 big run 3 

The hike itself wasn’t terribly difficult.  The first couple of miles were mostly downhill, and it seemed like the last four were one long uphill battle. 

rob big run

The views on the hike were limited to the ground for me, as I nearly broke my ankle on a pinecone after an hour, of course. 

Annnnd in even more exciting/ scary/ I don’t know what to do but we have a pocketknife so stay away news, fave spotted a big ol’ brown bear about 2.5 miles in. 

It might have been the scariest 10 minutes I’ve experienced in a long time.  All we had was our backpack (full of food), a big stick, and a pocket knife (you know, for emergencies). 

Mr. Bear didn’t seem to want anything to do with us, but him being 50 yards away isn’t a comforting thought, especially when your turkey sammy is in your backpack wafting smells into the forest.  So we stood still, tried to look big, and didn’t take a breath for a few minutes.  

After that, I was literally hauling ass to get out of the forest.  Unfortunately our trail took us right back around where Mr. Bear was wandering, so it was kind of tense for a couple of miles.

We had planned to have lunch somewhere in the middle, but quite frankly, I just wanted to make sure we were safe from the bears, so lunch happened when we got finished at around 5:00pm.

kathleen big run (Nope, not playing soccer, just keeping the ticks at bay.)

When we decided to eat lunch/ early dinner, we had another little visitor.  Hello, Baby Bear.

baby bear

Needless to say, when we finally ate lunch I was done in about 1.2 minutes. 

It was a more stressful hike than I had originally planned.

Of course, we rewarded ourselves with something special… beer.

blue mountain brewery 1

blue mountain brewery 2

blue mountain 

Well deserved.

Ever been to Shenandoah National Forest?

Do you know how to handle bears in the woods?

4 Comments

Filed under blue mountain brewery, hiking, shenandoah national park

4 responses to “Hiking Big Run

  1. Jen Browne

    Great post. Loved the outfit. Died at the socks. I didn’t know ticks stuck to your legs, unless you are a dog. I also cannot believe the bears…I would have freaked out. Good work on bringing the knife 🙂 anyways, miss you and live the blog!

    • I had the sweatiest hands EVER when we saw the bear. I thought about running back to the beginning of the trail, but the end was just as far away…and yes, the one inch pocket knife really helped 🙂
      Miss you! Love your bump btw 🙂 xo

  2. Kerry

    That hike looks awesome!! I think you just convinced me to go before the summer is out! Thanks friend. Also, speaking of beer, when are we going to happy hour again?

Leave a Reply

