Not Much to Tell

Friday’s workout:  Friday I woke up telling myself I was going to have an 8 mile run.  And then I laid in bed, drank a bunch of coffee and had breakfast…and all of the sudden it was 10am.  An outdoor run was out of the question (I believe it was already 90* outside), so I headed to the gym to try and pound out 8 miles on the treadmill.

I got ‘er done in about 70 minutes, ranging between 8:30-8:50 minute miles.  Other than a pee break halfway through (note to self:  no more coffee before morning runs), I felt great.  My lungs felt awesome and my legs kept up except for a few minor and random knee pains from stepping wrong.  I was glad to get that checked off the list.  I’m pretty sure the last time I ran 8 miles was in April.

Saturday’s workout:  Body pump!  Not my favorite instructor, but it got the job done.  Plus one mile on the treadmill to warm up.

Sunday’s workout:  6 mile run.  Stretching.  Lots of stretching.  I tried to make this a somewhat speedy run, ranging my miles between 7:15- 8:45.  I ended up finishing 6 in 48 minutes… and it was slightly tough because of all the squat jumps from Saturday’s pump class.

 

Other than my boring workouts, nothing exciting went on this weekend.  I ran some errands to start getting ready for the school year, went on a date with the fave to our favorite place, Bacchus, and had some pool time on Sunday.   My life is boring sometimes.

Buuuuut speaking of not boring, I have almost come to a big decision… I’m thinking about running the Outer Banks Marathon in November.

obx marathon 
Here are a few perks to running this marathon.

  • It’s 15 weeks away so I have plenty of time to train.
  • It’s theme is pirates.  My favorite.
  • I can drive there.
  • I can stay in my favorite OBX house. 
  • It’s on the beach.
  • There are SIX beer sponsors.  SIX.  Shock Top?  Yes, please.
  • Miles 14-22 are fast and flat.  That’s 8 miles in a row that are flat.

Cons to this marathon.

  • It’s the same weekend as Richmond Marathon.  Although after last year I don’t know if I’m ready to tackle that again.
  • None of my friends will be there cheering me on.  I think that might have saved me last year. 
  • Miles 10-12.5 are in a nature preserve.  You know what that means.  Trails.  Sticks.  Roots.  Leaves.  Things that can trip me.
  • Mile 23 is over a huge bridge that is a 4% grade… although if I’m feeling hot I can just jump off the bridge into the ocean, soooo perk?
  • I haven’t seen the finisher medal and I kind of only want it if there is a pirate on it.

Thoughts?  Has anyone run this before?  Vitaminbee are you running  this year?

3 Comments

Filed under obx marathon

3 responses to “Not Much to Tell

  1. Michelle

    throw a shout-out on the MTT message board about the OBX and I’m sure someone will fill you in on the goods and evils of the race.

  2. Kerry

    I was actually thinking of making that my first half marathon. I am torn between the Richmond and OBX too. Maybe we can decide together 🙂

  3. Miles 10-13 are through a nature preserve. 10-12 arent too bad, just small rolling hills, but 12-13 are “The Woods” which is a pretty tough bit trail running. It’s better to know than to not know right? The bridge, after being in the woods, is a cakewalk.

    Other than that, I highly recommend this marathon. It’s small, well organized, and supported by the local community. A lot of the familys come out with beach chairs to cheer on the runners.

    I’m not sure if I’m going to do it this year but I really really really want to. It’s my favorite race, hands down. If I can get my act together, I’d like to do the Blackbeard Challenge again!

    And it’s all the beer that you can drink (they say two but it’s a lie). And they have bbq for the meat eaters 😉

    Do it do it do it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

