Not Coffee Cake

Tuesday’s workout:  7 mile run, 8:45 pace

Yesterday’s run felt awesome.  I almost kept going to get in my long run for the week (goal is 11 miles), but I got hungry, and naturally, my stomach won that battle. 

After lazing on the couch watching Miss Informed (those women are all hot messes), I decided to make coffee cake.   There’s no instant coffee in this recipe, but I’m sure it tastes amazing with a side of coffee!

I found the recipe on Martha Stewart’s website, but I changed a few things along the way to make it slightly healthier.

Not Coffee Cake Cake

Topping

  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Cake

  • 1 stick unsalted butter (I used 1/2 stick of light Blue Bonnet margarine and 1/2 stick of regular butter, and I think it was salted)—room temperature
  • 2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of regular flour)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream (I used 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/4 cup vanilla Greek yogurt)

1.  Preheat oven to 350* and grease round 8 inch pan.

2.  Mix together topping ingredients and set aside

3.  In small bowl, mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.  Set aside.

4.  In large bowl, beat butter, eggs, and sugar together until smooth.  Gradually add flour mixture and Greek yogurt, alternating and ending with flour, until batter is thoroughly mixed and smooth.

5.  Spread half of the batter in the cake pan and sprinkle half of the topping mixture on top.  Repeat with last half of batter and the rest of the topping.

6. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.   Let cool for 15 minutes and enjoy!

++ Recipe actually calls for 9 inch pan so I made a few cupcakes on top of the above 8 inch cake.++

not coffee cake

Don’t forget to enter the sweet giveaway!

Do you have a good coffee cake recipe that actually uses coffee?

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

