Time for a plan

Thursday’s workout:  12 mile run- 1 hr 47 min,  1 mile walk

Yesterday I woke up early and decided to knock out 12 miles.  For some reason I was really nervous about this run, probably because the last time I ran 12 miles was in the marathon last year.  It’s been awhile. 

I started outside, where it was already warm and muggy.  So muggy.  I felt a little rough the first couple of miles and was cursing myself for not doing my long run the other day.  Also, Mr. Garmin decided he wanted to play with my emotions and not clock my distance for the first half mile. 

I headed into the gym with 5.5 miles done and finished the next 6.5 on the good ol tready.  I actually felt better this week  during 12 miles than I did last week during 10, so I guess that’s improvement.  My feet didn’t hurt as bad, but I am noticing a little lower back pain, and I’m not sure what that’s about.  So, I got home, iced and rested for the next few hours/ slept/ watched the Today Show.

 

On Wednesday afternoon I finally got out my calendar to figure out a running plan that I want to follow if I’m going to run the OBX marathon in November.  Last year I used Hal Higdon’s novice 1 marathon training plan and I followed it pretty religiously.  Unfortunately, I think it might have just been a little too much running for my body at 5 days per week.  The schedule I made for myself follows Hal’s plan loosely on the long runs, but I don’t think I’m going to do two medium (like 8 milers) a week- probably just one, depending on how my body feels. 

Last year I adhered to the schedule so much that if I missed something, I felt completely guilty about it, so I think my life will  be much easier if I have a less strenuous schedule to follow.  Everything on my schedule is pretty d0able with busy weekends, etc.  I’m also going to try and continue body pump 2x/week during the school year to build my huge muscles (aka barely noticeable muscles). 

So… that’s the plan for now.  I’m giving myself a couple of more weeks to think about it before I sign up for the race.   

 

Finally… to reward myself for such a great run yesterday morning, I had a couple of these babies celebrate the women’s gold medal in soccer!

olympics

All in all… a good day.

 

Don’t forget to enter the sweet giveaway!!

1 Comment

Filed under Long run, training

One response to “Time for a plan

  1. Blah, I definitely couldn’t do 5 run days per week. I’m doing 3, sometimes 4 now, and I’m getting a little fried 🙂 I look forward to the long runs, but the mid-week, little runs are kinda killing me!

Leave a Reply

