Crockpot dinners are back…

Monday’s workout:  5.5 mile run, 46 minutes, headache and all…

Yesterday’s workout was difficult… for some strange reason I had the biggest headache e-v-e-r, so making it through 5.5 miles without throwing up felt like a huge win.  Other than the fact that I did not want to be working out, the run felt good and my legs felt great. 

 

Well… now that school is back in session, I’m planning on crockpot meals at least one day a week.  That eliminates cooking and worrying about anything when I get home, and since so far I’m incredibly exhausted, this is appealing.

Last night I made (technically, the fave put everything in the pot, but I set it out with pictured step by step instructions), chicken and dumplings that I found off Pinterest. 

Easiest Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings ever

Adapted from eatingwell.com

  • chicken breasts
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cans of light cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • 1/2 tube of refrigerated biscuit dough (I got the whole wheat reduced fat and they still tasted delicious.)

1.  Put chicken breasts in bottom of crockpot.  Add carrots, onions, 2 cans of soup and chicken broth.  Cook on low for 8-10 hours. 

2.  Once cooked, shred chicken with a fork.  Add biscuit dough (broken into small pieces) to pot.  Make sure the dough gets submerged in the broth.  Cook on high for another hour or so, until dumplings are done.

chicken and dumplings

Almost as good as Cracker Barrel’s… although this is probably at least one million times healthier so it’s a win.

 

Annnnnnnnnnd now it’s Tuesday.  On the downside, I have to go to a training all morning.  On the upside, I get to stop at Subway for lunch like a real person. 

 

What’s your favorite crockpot recipe?  Any good Monday stories?

Yesterday when we were brainstorming words that end in –at (like cat, hat, mat, rat.. you get it), one of my kids suggested the word computer.  Nope.  Not.even.close.

1 Comment

Filed under food

One response to “Crockpot dinners are back…

  1. Evie

    It’s gonna be a long year! Love Mom

Leave a Reply

