Garlic Lime Chicken Enchiladas

Monday’s workout:  6 mile run, 53 minutes…. extremely similar to Sunday’s run, except I watched Chicago Fire instead of Nashville and I love it.  I don’t think it comes on TV until Oct 10, so set your DVRs.  Or watch it off of Amazon for free… either one. 

I wasn’t feeling this run, but I kept telling myself I’d feel so much better when I finished, and it helped.  I topped off the day with some abs, which I’ve been neglecting lately, and headed home to finally make those enchiladas from Saturday.

I got this recipe off of Feed Me Seymour, and I didn’t change much.  It’s really easy (obviously what I need on a Monday), and it tastes almost like real Mexican restaurant enchiladas… minus 17 lbs of cheese and oil that make Mexican restaurant enchiladas taste amazing.

Garlic Lime Chicken Enchiladas

  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 thinly sliced red onion
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3 tsp tomato paste
  • 3 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 2 cups of rice, cooked
  • 2 cans of enchilada sauce (recipe calls for 1, but those little cans never seem to give you much)
  • olive oil
  • 6 tortillas (I love Tumeros- they’re only 50 calories and taste awesome)
  • 1 cup shredded cheese
  • 4 tsp chopped cilantro

++Preheat oven to 375*++

1.  Saute onion in olive oil over medium high heat until slightly soft.  Add garlic and saute for about a minute.

2.  Next, add lime juice, cayenne pepper, and tomato paste.  Stir to combine.

3.  Remove from heat and add chicken and rice and half the cilantro.  Mix well.

4.  On clean surface, assemble tortillas.  Put about 2 tbs of filling into the middle and wrap tightly.  Place in greased baking dish, seam-side down. 

5.  Pour enchilada sauce over tortillas, making sure they are evenly covered.  Add cheese and top with the rest of the cilantro.   Heat in oven for 8-10 minutes, until cheese is melted. 

(Not my picture.)

I have to say that these are super filling.  I had 2 and seriously could barely finish them (of course I did though, not letting melted cheese go to waste).

 

How much do you love enchiladas on a scale of 1-10?  Or just make that Mexican food?

How do you get through hard workouts? 

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

