Granola!

Hmm…what did I do this weekend that is worth mentioning?

Let’s see, after an exhausting last day of work and a couple of glasses of wine, I was asleep by 9:30 Friday night.  And I didn’t wake up until 8 Saturday morning.  You’d think I’d be well rested, seeing as I got over 10 hours of sleep, but I felt like I was living in a daze yesterday.  It was like I had taken NyQuil and was trying to wake up out of that sleep, but I didn’t…and I ended up taking two naps.  Each nap was amazing and drool worthy.  I’m just keeping it classy, and hey, it’s my first day of Christmas break, so no judging.

Last night, after doing absolutely nothing important all day besides nap and read, the fave and I decided to go out to dinner (which we haven’t done in forever), aaaaaaaand we decided to walk.  To dinner.  In the boot. 

It wasn’t terrible, but we were definitely moving much slower than normal thanks to my limp.  It felt good to get outside and walk, but I was so concentrated on the sidewalk and bumps that I missed all the fun Christmas lights on the way… the good news is, I didn’t fall on my face!

I was able to bike for 45 minutes both days this weekend (30 on the upright bike and 15 on the stationary), and although my heart rate was up and I was dripping sweat, I still don’t feel like it was as great as running.  Whatever, I made it to the gym and got a workout in, despite the boot, so that’s good.

Today, instead of baking more Christmas cookies and things that are semi-terrible for me, I’ve decided to whip up a couple batches of granola to take on my drive to Kentucky later this week.

First, I made Peanut Butter Granola that turned out delicious. 

peanut butter granola

Next, after looking up more recipes, I decided to make up my own.  What’s up Betty Crocker, you better watch it.

Applesauce Granola

  • 1/2 cup all natural applesauce
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • few sprinkles of cinnamon
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 325*.  Mix applesauce, honey and cinnamon together until smooth.  Add oats and almonds and mix.  Put mixture on greased foil and bake for 8-10 minutes.   Add cranberries after removing from oven and let cool.

This is what the finished product looks like 🙂

applesauce granola

I’m pretty impressed with myself for this one. 

Also, has anyone else noticed that Newt Gingrich looks just like a lego-man?

newt_lego

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Granola!

  1. Mom

    Sorry Kathleen you are not my daughter. I would NEVER make granola unless it had chocolate chips in it and even then…well now chocolate chip cookies, pretzel wreaths with chocolate even no bake oatmeal chocolate cookies…but NEVER granola. You must have been switchted at birth. Love you anyway. Mom

  2. HA! He DOES look like a lego man! Poor lego:-(
    And….now I have a craving for some granola. Totally gonna try that recipe.
    PS. Your mom rocks! Love her comment;-)

Leave a comment