13.5 miles and Body Worlds

Saturday’s workout:  13.5 mile run, a little over 2 hours.  I managed about a 9 min/mile pace—33.5 miles for the week

It was tough to get started.  First off, it was raining.  Secondly, it was raining.  Third, it was Saturday morning. 

I headed to the gym (because of the aforementioned rain) and pounded out 13.5 on the treadmill.  It was sucky.  I don’t mind running on the treadmill for 7-8ish miles, but after that it is just miserable.  But because I hate running in the rain when I don’t have to, I forced myself to do the long run on the treadmill.  I meant to do a little more, but after two hours I was more than ready to go home. 

Sunday’s workout:  2 mile run, 30 minutes on the elliptical, abs.. Boring.

 

Saturday, after much couch time and cuddling with Derby, the fave and I walked over to the science museum to see the Body Worlds exhibit.  It’s only taken me four years to walk the half mile to the museum, so I feel like that’s a win in itself. 

Body Worlds is a really neat exhibit (neat if you like looking at dead people and bones and organs and brains) featuring plasticized human bodies and shows how disease and negative lifestyle choices impact the body. 

These aren’t my images, but here are a couple of the things we saw.

Here is a video for more information.

Overall it was really interesting.  If you live in the area, I’d definitely make my way over to the museum.  I think the exhibit is there for another couple of weeks. 

 

Annnnnnnnnnd wish me luck… back to work today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Body Worlds, Long run

Leave a comment